2022 AFC Cup group matches set for Myanmar clubs


With the supervision of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) the 2022 AFC Cup group stage drawing lots event was held online on 17 January, with Myanmar club Shan United in Group H and Hanthawady in Group I.
The 2022 AFC Cup will be divided into zones, while Myanmar clubs will compete in the ASEAN zone.
The ASEAN Zone will consist of 12 teams and will be divided into three groups of four.
Kaya FC of the Philippines, Bali United of Indonesia, Kedah Darul Aman FC of Malaysia are placed in Group G, while Kuala Lumpur City FC of Malaysia, Shan United of Myanmar, Tampines Rover FC of Singapore, and PSM Makassar FC of Indonesia are in Group H.
Next, Hanthawady United of Myanmar will face Viettel FC of Viet Nam, Hougang United of Singapore, and Phnom Penh Crown FC of Cambodia in Group I.
In the qualifiers, Cambodian club Visakha will play against Lao club Young Elephants, with the winner advancing to the group stage.
It will be divided into East Asia, West Asia, South Asia Zone, ASEAN Zone and Central Zones and 39 teams will compete.
The ASEAN Zone Group Games will be held from 24 to 30 June in the form of a Centralized Venue, with each group selected by the host country.
Myanmar clubs Shan United and Hanthawady have not been able to take training yet due to the COVID-19 outbreak in Myanmar.
Shan United has qualified for the AFC Cup for the fourth time, while Hanthawady will compete for the first time.
The AFC Cup ASEAN Zone competitions could not be held in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. — Ko Nyi Lay/GNLM

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News