Amyotha Hluttaw discusses water supply to towns

a copy
Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw Mahn Win Khaing Than. Photo: MNA

The seventh session of the second Amyotha Hluttaw held its 32nd-day meeting at the Amyotha Hluttaw meeting hall in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday morning.
At the meeting, asterisk-marked questions were raised and answered by Nay Pyi Taw Council member U Aung Myin Tun.
U Sai Than Naing of Kayin State constituency (5) asked about the plan to distribute water to wards in Papun Town from Yunslin Creek and to Papun Township, Kamamaung Town, from Thanlwin River by pumping the river water. Nay Pyi Taw Council member U Aung Myin Tun replied that the two towns would be provided river water through a settling tank, a preliminary sediment tank and a secondary sediment tank to purify the water, and pressure pumps to distribute the water.
As town water distribution systems rely on electricity, power line connections for the two towns will be built, and once this is done, priority will be given to the town water distribution work, explained U Aung Myin Tun, on behalf of the state government.
The second question was posed by U Mya Min Swe of Magway constituency (9), who asked about the government’s plan to establish modern and scenic towns. Nay Pyi Taw Council member U Aung Myin Tun replied that the state or regional government must first earmark funds in the budget, and later, submit and discuss it with the financial commission. The funds will be provided after the Hluttaw approves the funding request made with the recommendation of the chief minister.
The municipal or development works are distributed among the states and regions, according to the 2008 Constitution, and there is no separate ministry at the union level for development (municipal) affairs. States/regional governments will be contacted and guided to obtain and utilise funding for their development affairs, said U Aung Myin Tun.
Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khain Than then informed the Hluttaw about receiving the second amendment of the public servant bill, sent back by the Pyithu Hluttaw with amendments.
The Hluttaw representatives who wanted to discuss the bill were asked to register their names.
Next, a motion to agree and accept a report on the work of the Amyotha Hluttaw’s Fundamental Rights of the Citizens, Democracy and Human Rights Committee was tabled by committee secretary U Myo Htat @ Salai Myo Htike, and after the Hluttaw’s acceptance was obtained, an announcement about the same was made.
Later, a report on the work of the Ethnic Affairs Committee, Conflict Alleviation and Peace Process Committee, a report on the work of the Amyotha Hluttaw Agriculture, Livestock and Fishery Development Committee and a report of the Women and Children’s Rights Committee were read by committee secretary U Naing Thiha, committee member Daw Ma Ma Lay and committee member Daw Ei Ei Pyone, respectively. After each report was read, the Amyotha Hluttaw speaker requested the Hluttaw representatives who wanted to discuss the reports to enrol their names.
Following this, Mahn Win Khaing Than announced the nomination of U Aung Kyi Nyunt of Magway Region constituency (4) to the Presidential Electoral College and sought the decision of the Hluttaw.
As there was no objection from the Hluttaw, it was
then announced that he would
be nominated as a member
of the Presidential Electoral College.
The 33rd-day meeting of the seventh session of the second Amyotha Hluttaw will be held on 29 March.


Aye Aye Thant
(Myanmar News Agency)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News