Amyotha Hluttaw hears nationwide plans for preparedness, response to earthquakes

Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than. Photo: Soe Win Tun
Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than. Photo: Soe Win Tun

The second Amyotha Hluttaw held its 8th day meeting of 15th regular session yesterday, hearing reports on nationwide plans for preparedness and response to earthquakes.
MP U Tun Tun Oo from Mandalay Region constituency 2 asked about preparedness and response plans for earthquake to prevent serious losses amidst the unexpected disaster.
Deputy Minister for Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement U Soe Aung replied the formation of disasters management committee led by Vice President U Henry Van Thio, comprising advisory board with relevant experts in disaster management, setting up funds, drawing plans for emergency response, and getting supports of Japanese government and World Bank to reduce severe damages at historical and cultural heritages of the country.
He added the ministry is coordinating in these measures with the Ministry of Information for educative programmes, with the Ministry of Home Affairs and the Tatmadaw for rescue efforts, with the Ministry of Health and Sports for medical services and with the Ministry of Education for constructing safe schools.
The government has set up earthquake warning systems across the country, safety factors in constructing dams and reservoirs and inspecting damages at these water storage facilities in person and technically.
The Yangon City Development Committee and the World Bank are renovating public buildings to be able to resist earthquakes.
The Deputy Minister added the National Disaster Management Committee is leading Union-level ministries, Nay Pyi Taw Council, State/Region governments, civil societies and international organizations to conduct drills for disaster management with the public participation.

Queries to Ministry of Education
MP U Hla Myint (a) U Hla Myint Thant from Mon State constituency 11 asked about construction of a new 30×90 ft science classroom at the high school of Mukkhamu village in Kyaikto Township.
Deputy Minister U Win Maw Tun replied that his ministry will submit the budget for construction of school building in 2020-2021 financial year.
MP Daw Than Than Aye from Magway Region constituency 7 asked about construction of a new school building at the high school in TaungU village of Minhla Township of her constituency. The Deputy Minister also pledged to allocate budget for the school building if it has been approved.
MP Dr Win Myint from Bago Region constituency 11 asked about plan to narrow the gaps between the numbers of male teachers and female teachers at the primary and high school levels. The Deputy Minister also said 4,189 male teachers and 9,753 female teachers, making the ratio 1 to 2, for 2019-2020 academic year.
MP Dr Zaw Lin Htut from Mon State constituency 9 asked about construction of a new school after demolishing the old and fragile building at U Phyu primary school in Thaton Township, MP Daw Htu May from Rakhine State constituency (11) about prmoting the status of a high school (sub) in Sitpyar village Yambye Township, and MP U Okka Min from Taninthayi constituency 8 about construction of a new building at the high school in Kanmaw village of Kyunsu Township in his constituency. Deputy Minister U Win Maw Tun answered these questions.

Myanmar Telecommunication Commission Bill
MP Dr Pyae Phyo from Ayeyawady Region constituency 7 and MP U Soe Thein (a) U Maung Soe from Taninthayi Region constituency 10 discussed the Myanmar Telecommunication Commission Bill. Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker informed receiving bylaws related to election of Supreme Court Bar Council, with the recommendations of Pyithu Hluttaw. He also invited the names of MPs who want to discuss the bylaws with the specific number of paragraphs. The 9th day meeting of Amyotha Hluttaw will be organized on 20th February.— Aung Ye Thwin
(Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News