Ayeyawady sees developing transport infrastructures 

Ayeyawady Region was once included in the Mon Nya region, one of three Mon regions—Mon Ti, Mon Sa and Mon Nya. Dagon and Dala were in the Mon Ti region; Thaton and Mottama were in the Mon Sa region; Pathein and Myaungmya were parts of the Mon Nya region. Despite being an area where significant Myanmar kings did not establish, the region has been rich in unique historical features. Although the lower part of Myanmar was called “RaMaNya” in the past, it is unknown when it was called. Only the name “RaMaNya” was first found in the very ancient chronicles of Siho (Chapter 76 of the Mahavamsa). King Alaung Mintayar, the founder of the Konbaung dynasty, organized the Mon people from the RaMaNya region to form the Third Myanmar Empire.
At present, Ayeyawady Region is formed with six districts, 26 townships, 45 towns, 302 wards, 11,860 villages in village tract in order to adapt the political, administrative, economic and social conditions.
Because of the abundant water resources, local people in Ayeyawady Region mainly rely on navigation and they are engaged in traditional commercial fisheries and agriculture. In terms of agriculture, the region has the distinction of being the State’s granary, with abundant rice. However, there has not been a significant change because people in the area rely on only waterways.
Today, Ayeyawady Region has a remarkable development due to the road networks implemented by the State and the region is accessible any season. The road networks were originally started with five lines, but have expanded to eleven. These include:
Maubin-Yelelay-Shwetaungmaw-Kyaikpi-Mawlamyinekyun road (44 miles and 6 furlongs); Mawlamyinegyun- Hlinebone- Thitpotekwin- Pauk-Pyinsalu road (72 miles and 3 furlongs); Labutta- Thingangyi- Pyinsalu road (35 miles and 2 furlongs); Labutta (Kyaukphyarlay)- Thonegwa- Oktwin-Htakesun road (55 miles and 1 furlong); Bogale-Kyanechaung-Kadonkani road (42 miles); Bogale-Satsun-Htawpine-Amar road (38 miles and 5 furlongs); Pyapon-Kyonegadun-Satsun road (17 miles and 6 furlongs); Jakkar-Seintaung-Mawtinsun road (95 miles); Bogale-Mawlamyinekyun-Kyonmange-Wakema-Myaungmya road (22 miles and 5 furlongs); and Pathine- Ngaputaw road (19 miles and 5 furlongs).
In terms of bridges, a total of 93 bridges over 180 feet such as Nyaungdon bridge, Bo Myat Tun bridge, Pathein bridge No (1) and (2), Myaungmya bridge; 942 concrete bridges under 180 feet, 44 Bailey bridges over 180 feet; 61 Bailey bridges under 180 feet; 9 wooden bridges over 180 feet, 50 wooden bridges under 180 feet; 1,560 pipe culverts totalling 2,759 bridges have been built.
Along with the road networks and bridges, there are four main roads in Ayeyawady Region: Yangon-Nyaungdon-Danubyu-Ngathainggyoung- Gwa- Thandwe- Taungup-Sanekhamaung-Tattaung-An-MraukU-Kyauktaw-Buthidaung-Maungtaw -Sittway Road; Pathein -Ngathainggyoung – Kwinkauk- Batye- Ushitpin-Padan-Kanpya-Kasunma-Myaing-Salingyi-Monywa Road; Pathien-Yaykyi-Kyonpyaw-Ahtaung-Hinthada-Ingapu-Myanaung-Kyangin-Batye Road; Pathein-Mawtinsun Road; and the nine Union crossing roads: Yangon-Nyaungdon-Danubyu-Ngathainggyoung-Gwa Road; Yangon-Nyaungdon-Pantanaw-Wakema-Kyonmange- Labutta Road; Yangon-Nyaungdon-Kyaunggon-Pathein Road; Yangon-Kyaiklat-Mawlamyinegyun Road; Yangon-Dedaye-Pyapon-Bogale-Kyaikpi-Mawlamyinegyun Road; Yangon-Pyapon-Dedaye-Kyongadun-Daw Nyein-Seikma-Amar Road; Yangon-Twantay-Maubin-Mawlamyinegyun Road; and Pathein- Ngaputaw- Labutta Road; and Pathein-Myaungmya -Labutta Road. With these roads, Ayeyawady Region is developing from waterways to land routes.
In addition, major projects such as the construction of Pathein-Monywa-YeU Road and the discovery of new oil fields in the region are encouraging for local people. Then when Myanaung oil field and Shwepyitha oil field are discovered in the region, the residents could shout out “Black gold can be mined from the black ground”.
With highway roads and bridges, road networks, river pumping projects and their results monsoon paddy and summer paddy fields, universities and colleges, marine science research laboratories, television relay stations and microwave stations, rural roads that can be accessed in all seasons, domestic satellite communication stations and foreign submarine cable stations, natural beauty such as Ngwehsaung and Chaungtha beaches, international standard hotels and other sectors such as livestock, forestry, telecommunications, economic, social, education and healthcare sectors, Ayeyawady Region is now developing. – Chan Myae Maung/GNLM

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News