Bogyoke Aung San Museum being renovated ahead of Martyrs’ Day

general house
Bogyoke Aung San Museum is being renovated in preparation for Martyrs’ Day in Bahan Township, Yangon.  
Photo: Than soe

The Bogyoke Aung San Museum in Bahan Township of Yangon is undergoing special renovations in preparation for Martyrs’ Day, which falls on 19 July. Work is on at the upper floor of the museum, which was shut down for maintenance, so that it can be opened to visitors this year.
Established in 1962, the museum was earlier the residence of Myanmar’s independence hero Bogyoke Aung San. He lived in the two-storey home along with his family from May, 1945 till his assassination on 19 July, 1947.
The museum has three rooms on the ground floor and four rooms on the first floor. This year, Bogyoke Aung San’s living room has been recreated and his clothes will be exhibited to the public. The rooms on the first floor, which were closed to visitors last year, will be opened after safety measures are put in place. Groups of 50 visitors will be allowed to visit the rooms on the first floor this year.
“Earlier, the first floor of the museum was shut down for necessary maintenance. After the necessary repair and maintenance, the museum will allow a group of 50 visitors at a time to visit the first floor rooms. The ground floor will take the visitors back to 1947, and Bogyoke’s clothes (suits) will be laid out in the bedroom. Visitors can also explore the garden after a trip to the children’s bedroom and a special meeting room on the ground floor,” said U Khin Maung Soe, Assistant Director, National Museum (Yangon).
Last year, prominent speeches of Bogyoke Aung San were displayed at the museum. This year, stamps with Bogyoke images will be exhibited on 18 boards. The garden in the museum is being maintained by the Yangon City Development Committee’s Playgrounds, Parks, and Gardens Department. Covered walkways have been constructed along the entry path by the YCDC’s Engineering Department to protect visitors from rain.
On Martyrs’ day, the museum will remain open from 6 am to 6 pm. On 20 and 21 July, it will be open from 8 am to 5 pm Normally, the museum is open from 9 am to 4.30 pm. Tuesday to Sunday. It remains closed on Mondays and gazetted holidays. Entry is free for locals, while foreigners are charged a fee of K5,000 per person.
During the 2018-2019 fiscal year, the museum underwent general renovations under the supervision of the Yangon Region Government, and the current renovation will be completed by 16 July. Officials from the Myanmar Engineering Council, the Association of Myanmar Architects, the Yangon Heritage Trust, and the YCDC will continue with the regular maintenance of the museum.
Over 20,000 locals and 97 foreigners visited the museum last year. With the latest round of renovation and maintenance, the museum is equipped to receive a higher number of visitors this year.—Than Htike (Translated by La Wonn)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News