Bravery titles conferred on soldiers by President

DSC 6052 72
President U Htin Kyaw greets bravery titles winners at the cermony to confer honourary titles on those who served the country bravely. Photo: MNA

President U Htin Kyaw made an address and presented titles for bravery at a ceremony held in the Theater Room at the President’s Palace yesterday morning.
The President noted that the ceremony was held on Independence Day, a way to further highlight the importance and reverence for those who have served Myanmar with distinction.
“The present ceremony is a specific and extraordinary one, in which persons who contributed their arduous effort and unchanging enthusiasm in building up the nation and those who served the country bravely without having any thought for their personal interests, will be presented with honorary awards,” the President said yesterday. “Being specific and extraordinary, the ceremony is held on this auspicious occasion of the Independence Day of great nobility for Myanmar. Our national people sacrificed their lives for gaining independence for years. With the concerted effort, valor, zeal and enthusiasm of the whole Myanmar populace under the leadership of our national leader, Bogyoke Aung San, independence was achieved. For the independence which our national leaders and our forefathers achieved with great risks to survive till the end of our world, we must defend it in unity and hand in hand with each other. It is incumbent upon all citizens to safeguard the 69-year old independence and to make the country develop into a peaceful and modern nation.”
The President added that the honorary titles were bestowed, some of them posthumously, after receiving recommendations from a scrutiny board.
“In building up the nation into a peaceful and modern federal democratic Union, it is a great virtue to honour those who are well worth honouring for their extraordinary contribution, remarkably more than others, for the security of the nation, rule of law, peace and stability of the area and nation-building sectors. In this ceremony, one Thiha Thura title winner and 14 Thura title winners will be presented honorary title awards, upon the recommendation of the scrutiny board for their marvelous contribution without having any fear to sacrifice their lives. And it can be said a criterion for their individual deed. For those who cannot accept the titles in person it will be an honour forever for their posterity. I myself hereby want to assert that I deeply respect and honour them on behalf of the State and the People. And I urge all to safeguard the independence and sovereignty of the State without keeping racial and religious prejudices and hatred in your minds and leave good examples for future generations.”
Afterwards, the President conferred the Thiha Thura title and Thura bravery awards on 15 soldiers. Relatives of fallen soldiers received the posthumous awards presented by the President.
The Thiha Thura title was posthumously conferred upon Capt. Swan Ye Aung, BC-53098, of No 109 Light Infantry Regiment, for bravery. The Thura title was conferred posthumously for bravery for Lt-Col. Zaw Myo, BC-31480, of No. 4 Myanmar Regiment, Maj. Yazar Min Tun, BC-34227, of No. 6 Light Infantry Regiment and Capt. Nay La Win, BC-38326 of No. 1 Myanmar Regiment. The Thura title was also conferred on Capt. Min Aung, BC-42667 of No. 11 Myanmar Regiment, Capt. Nyein Chan Kyaw, BC-46947, of No 4 Myanmar Regiment (posthumously), Capt. Soe Nyunt Naing, BC-54561, of the Defence Services (Army) Officers Training School (Bahtoo), Capt. Yan Kyaw, BC-55704, of regional Control Command (Sittway), Maj. Thet Khaing, BC-60773 of the Defence Services Academy, Capt. Pyai Sone Aung, BC-61690, of No. 9 Light Infantry Regiment, WO II Win Naing, BC-597385, of No. 109 Light Infantry Regiment (posthumously), Lance Corporal Hla Aye, Ta-327111, of No. 6 Light Infantry Regiment (posthumously), Lance Corporal Ye Zaw, Ta-372335, of No 119 Light Infantry Regiment (posthumously), Lance Corporal Nay Min, Ta-404009, of No. 4 Myanmar Regiment (posthumously) and Lance Corporal Poe Lay, Ta-477215, of No. 11 Myanmar Regiment.
Present at the ceremony were Daw Su Su Lwin, wife of the President, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, State Counsellor, Vice-President U Myint Swe and wife, Vice-President U Henry Van Thio and wife, Speaker of Pyithu Hluttaw U Win Myint and wife, Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw Mahn Win Khaing Than and wife, Chief Justice of the State U Tun Tun Oo, Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing and wife, Chairman of the Constitutional Tribunal of the Union U Myo Nyunt, Chairman of the Union Election Commission U Hla Thein, Deputy Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Services and Commander-in-Chief of (Army) Vice Senior General Soe Win, Vice-Speaker of Pyithu Hluttaw, Vice-Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw, Chairman of Assessment Commission on Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Legal and Special Cases, Union Ministers, Union Attorney General, Union Auditor General, Chairman of Union Civil Service Board, Chief of General Staff (Army, Navy and Air), high-ranking officials of Chief of Staff (Army) and their wives, chairmen of Hluttaw Affairs Committees, Deputy Ministers, award winners and their families. — Myanmar News Agency

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News