e-Government implementation working committee holds 4th meeting

The working committee for implementation of e-Government held its 4th meeting at the Ministry of Transport and Communications yesterday morning.

HNN 1106 01 copy
Union Minister for the Office of the Union Government U Min Thu presides over the 4th meeting for implementation of e-Government in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday. Photo: MNA

Union Minister for the Office of the Union Government U Min Thu, the chairman of working committee, suggested the implementation of decisions from the previous meetings should be closely monitored by its secretary; the third meeting of working committee could seek an approval from the steering committee for migration of international standard Unicode font system; the working committees and sub-committees are to maintain momentum for migration plan.
A scrutinizing committee was formed on 25 October 2019 to hire an advanced-private data center according to the decision of the third meeting of e-Government steering committee. The scrutinizing committee will report its functions to the steering committee.
The working committee and sub-committees will have to link with relevant departments and organizations to provide assistance for technology, human resources and cyber security to the steering committee that is implementing the processes included in the e-Government Master Plan. He also said the working committees and sub-committees are responsible for providing assistance in addressing difficulties and challenges of departments and organizations for better and more reliable online public services.
The Union Ministry finally suggested the participants at the meeting to prepare for the reports and identify difficulties and challenges to be discussed in the upcoming steering committee meeting.
Union Minister for Transport and Communications U Thant Sin Maung, the vice chairman of working committee, said that implementation of e-Government is aimed for providing good services to the public, and to speed up the administration processes among State/Region governments and Union government.
He also asked to hire chief information officers for successful implementation of e-Government and to set up a department to manage the processes.
Acting Director-General U Sai Saw Lin Tun of IT and Cyber Security Department under the Ministry of Transport and Communications, the secretary of working committee, presented implementation of decisions made in the third working committee.
Then, officials from working committees and sub-committees discussed installation of video conferencing system at the district offices, promulgation of cyber security law, categorizing data policy, duty assignments for CIOs, formation of e-Government departments at government offices, the Union Ministries and State/Region governments and collecting data for the cost of e-Government beginning 2019-2020 fiscal year.
Union Minister for Labour, Immigration and Population U Thein Swe, the chairman of working committee for e-ID system, discussed additional information about the e-Government, and Union Minister U Thant Sin Maung coordinated the disussions.
The 4th working committee meeting was also attended by its members of Deputy Ministers U Khin Maung Tin, U Aung Hla Tun, U Kyi Min, U Thar Oo, Dr Ye Myint Swe, U Aung Htoo and U Hla Maw Oo, Member of Union Civil Service Board U Win Maw, Nay Pyi Taw Council Member U Tin Tun, cabinet members of State/Region governments, officials from working committees and sub-committees, the patron of Myanmar Computer Federation and the invited guests.—MNA
(Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News