Eleventh regular session of Second Pyithu Hluttaw holds 21st meeting


A 21st meeting of the eleventh regular session of Second Pyithu Hluttaw was held yesterday morning at Pyithu Hluttaw building in Nay Pyi Taw where questions raised were answered, decision on a bill made and a motion discussed and approved.


Untitled 2 copy 1


Question and answer session
In the question and answer session, Daw Cho Cho of Ottwin constituency asked for arrangements made by Union Election Commission on having an accurate voters’ list and whether there is a plan in order to known transparently voters about it. Union Election Commission member U Myint Naing replied. 2019-2022 strategic plan with 11 chapters was draw up and distributed it to election sub-commissions, CSOs and political parties. The plan contains details about voters’ list preparation and 2019 was designated as voters’ list preparation year. The plan on voters’ list preparation was also distributed to all levels of election sub-commissions while trainings were also conducted.
Once the voters’ list is completed around end 2019, it will be put on a CD and distributed relevant political parties. If there were application to amend the voters’ list, assessment will be made and amendments will be made if necessary. The voters’ list will be announced and put up on notice boards twice in 2020 and voters in each constituency can then check the list and submit applications for amendments where necessary. Hluttaw candidates will also be provided with the voters’ list so that they too can check the constituents in their respective constituency. This arrangement will ensure that voters’ list will be accurate and the whole process is transparent explained the Union Election Commission member.
U Khin Maung Yi of Hinthada constituency then asked if there is a plan to construct a Hinthada-Letpadan Ayeyawady River Bridge to connect Ayeyawady Region and Bago Region.
Deputy Minister for Construction U Kyaw Linn replied that due to budget constraint the ministry is able to construct only one priority major bridge at a time and at the moment it is constructing 7,456 ft. long Thayet-Aunglan Ayeyawady River Bridge. Once the construction of this bridge is completed there is a plan to construct two bridges over the Ayeyawady River and those bridges are Ayeyawady Bridge (Hinthada) and Ayeyawady Bridge (Katha-Palwe Shwe). One will be selected and constructed as a priority bridge said the Deputy Minister.
Questions raised by U Aung Sein of Dawei constituency, U Than Aung of Ngaputaw constituency, U Toe Win of Tamway constituency, U Aung Min of Zalun constituency and U Nyan Lin of Shwepyitha constituency were also answered by Deputy Minister for Construction U Kyaw Linn and Deputy Minister for Transport and Communications U Kyaw Myo.

Hluttaw approves a bill amending Myanmar Engineering Council Law
Following the question and answer session Bill Committee member U Wai Hlaing Tun explained to the Hluttaw about bill amending Myanmar Engineering Council Law returned with amendments by Amyotha Hluttaw and Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat obtained the approval of the Hluttaw. As there were disagreements on the bill between the two Hluttaws Bill Committee member U Sai Tun Aye tabled a motion to submit the matter to Pyidaungsu Hluttaw and Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker announced on following up with submitting the matter to Pyidaungsu Hluttaw.
Discussion and approval of motion on rural road and bridge construction works
As a final agenda of the day a motion tabled by U Zaw Min Thein of Laymyethna constituency urging the Union Government to fulfil more requirements when implementing rural road and bridge construction works was discussed by U Hla Tun Kyaw of Maungtaw constituency, U Nay Heat Win of Sinbaungwe constituency, Daw Mya Khwa Nyo Oo of Shwedaung constituency, U Than Aung of Ngaputaw constituency, U Soe Aung Naing of Kyonpyaw constituency, U Kyaw Gyi @ U Ohn Khin of Minhla constituency, Daw Khin Than Nu of Mindon constituency, Daw Cho Cho of Ottwin constituency, U Nan Mon Htin of Machanbaw constituency, U Myint Oo of Thanatpin constituency, U Win Htut of Pyapon constituency, U Zaw Min Lwin of Madaya constituency, U Arr Moe Si of Khaunglanphu constituency, U Kyaw Myo Min of Moenyo constituency and U Thein Tun of Kyaunggon constituency.
In discussing the motion Deputy Minister for Construction U Kyaw Linn said the ministry will keep on record the suggestions and comments made, conduct a departmental re-assessment, change where necessary, form quality inspection groups in states and regions to assure the proper usage of funds to develop rural road and ensure systematic implementation. The motion is supported to be put on record said the Deputy Minister. As the proposer of the motion wanted the motion to be approved and there was no dissent toward it Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker announced the Hluttaw’s approval of the motion.
The 22nd meeting of eleventh regular session of the Second Pyithu Hluttaw will be held on 7 March it is learnt.

By Aye Aye Thant (MNA)(Translated by Zaw Min)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News