Funds for peace process to be allocated into four sectors

DSC 1531 72
State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi addresses the meeting of the Joint Coordinating Body for Peace Process Funding in Nay Pyi Taw to discuss the allocation of international funding. Photo: MNA

A meeting on the formation of the Joint Coordinating Body for Peace Process Funding was held in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday, reaching an agreement on the selection of four sectors to which funds will be allocated for peace provided by international donors.
The four sectors are the Ceasefire Sector, the Negotiation and Dialogue Sector, the Peace Supporting Development Sector and Peace making process of the National Reconciliation and Peace Centre-NPRC Sector.
Speaking at the meeting, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Chairperson of the National Reconciliation and Peace Centre and State Counsellor, pledged to be fair and effective when the Joint Coordinating Body (JCB) carries out peace process plans.
She also stressed the need to take a pragmatic approach when drawing up plans and to coordinate with donors so that they can continue their contributions to the necessary sectors.
Regarding the seeking of funds and assistance, which is considered the second priority following setting of first priority sectors, the State Counsellor suggested taking the local donors into consideration apart from international donors.
The State Counsellor stressed the importance of ensuring transparency and minimising losses and wastages when the JCB manages the international assistance.
The JCB will be headed by State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi with eight representatives including herself from the government and eight representatives from both signatories and non-signatories to the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement.
The meeting was attended by Union Minister U Kyaw Tint Swe, Chairman of the Peace Commission Dr Tin Myo Win, Lt-Gen Yar Pyai, Lt-Gen Ye Aung, Union Minister Dr Win Myat Aye, Chairperson of the Ethnic Affairs Committee of Amyotha Hluttaw Daw Shilar Nan Taung, MP U Saw Tin Win and representatives of the signatories to the NCA Pado Saw Kwe Htoo Win, Khun Okka, Sai Hlyan, Salai Htalar Hay, U Myo Win while representatives of the non-signatories to the NCA Naing Aung Ma Ngay, U Tun Zaw, Naing Banya Mon, U San Law and U Kham Maung also attended the meeting.
— Myanmar News Agency

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News