MoHT Union Minister attends 60th ASEAN Tourism Authority meeting

DSC00177 sskm
The 60th ASEAN Tourism Authority Meeting, the 45th ASEAN+ China, Japan, Korea Tourism Authority Meeting, and the 32nd ASEAN+ India Tourism Authority Meeting hosted by Myanmar in progress through videoconferencing yesterday.

To promote and collaborate in the tourism industry across the ASEAN region, including China, Japan, Korea, and India, ASEAN member countries host the ASEAN Tourism Authority meeting and related gatherings alternately twice a year. Representatives from these member countries attend the meetings.
Myanmar is hosting the 60th ASEAN Tourism Authority Meeting, the 45th ASEAN+ China, Japan, Korea Tourism Authority Meeting, and the 32nd ASEAN+ India Tourism Authority Meeting from 10 to 11 July at the Jade Hall of the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism via videoconferencing. Union Minister for Hotels and Tourism Dr Thet Thet Khine attended and gave the opening speech.
U Phyo Zaw Soe, Deputy Minister for Hotels and Tourism, and other officials from the Ministry also attended the meetings.
In her opening remarks, the Union minister expressed pride and joy in the efforts of ASEAN and its partner organizations for the recovery of the tourism industry during the COVID-19 pandemic and the development of tourism in the ASEAN region. According to Myanmar tourism development data, between 2023 and 2024, 1.28 million international tourists visited in 2023, a four-and-a-half times increase compared to 2022. Additionally, the countries with the highest number of tourist arrivals are ASEAN member countries and partner countries such as China, Japan, and Korea. As of June 2024, 0.6 million international tourists have arrived, a 63 per cent increase compared to the same period in 2023, mainly from China and Thailand.
Following the ASEAN Tourism Strategic Plan 2016-2025, Myanmar aims to enhance human resource development, sustainable tourism, and joint market promotion in ASEAN tourism. The Union minister thanked the Philippines for leading the 2025 ASEAN Tourism Strategic Planning Project with the help of the Asian Development Bank and stated that Myanmar would cooperate with it. She also thanked all stakeholders for their experience and expertise that contributed to the development of ASEAN tourism. The Union minister expressed confidence that these meetings would lead to transformational results that would contribute to sustainable development among member countries.
Following the opening remarks, the meetings continued with the leader of Malaysia’s Tourism Authority acting as the chairman of the 60th ASEAN Tourism Authority meeting and U Maung Maung Kyaw, Director-General of the Directorate of Hotels and Tourism under the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism, acting as the vice-chairman. Leaders of tourism authorities from ASEAN member countries, representatives from regional and international organizations related to tourism, and representatives from the ASEAN Secretariat also participated.
On 11 July 2024, the 45th ASEAN+3 (China, Japan, Korea) Tourism Authority Meeting will be held with Malaysia and Korea as joint chairpersons, along with the 32nd ASEAN+ India Tourism Group Meeting with Malaysia and India as joint chairpersons. Representatives from tourism authorities of China, Japan, Korea, and India will attend these meetings. Representatives from the ASEAN-China Centre, ASEAN-Japan Centre, and ASEAN-Korea Centre will also participate. — MNA/TKO

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Tatmadaw education schools, Tatmadaw BEHSs turn out 392 distinction winners in matric exam 2024
MNHRC inspects Yamethin Prison, Kintha 1 & 2 Production Camp
Myanmar ambassador to Japan engages with Kumamoto officials, business leaders
Myanmar to participate in 36th VECONAC, 23rd General Assembly in Singapore
Strand Road Night Market opens in Magway
MoE Union Minister receives Ambassador of India
DPM MoD Union Minister leaves for Vietnam to attend state funeral
Myanmar, India to enhance cooperation in e-ID system
DPM MoFA Union Minister attends China-South Asia Expo opening
Indian Ambassador calls on MoHT Union Minister