MoNREC designates “Kaylatha Hill Protected Forest” to preserve biodiversity


The Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation (MoNREC), exercising authority under Section 6 (e) of the Forest Law enacted in 2018, declared 1,206 acres of land in Ywangan Township, Danu Self-Administered Zone, Shan State, as the “Kaylatha Hill Protected Forest” through Order No 46/2024 (6 June 2024).
The designation aims to preserve biodiversity, protect prohibited and other valuable trees long-term, maintain a green environment, regulate climate, and conserve spring water. MoNREC designates these public forests to achieve these goals.
The Kaylatha Hill Protected Forest designation will safeguard and enhance populations of significant tree species like Sal, Myanmar Ironwood, Indian laurel, gum-kino, Tamalan, Beechwood, Dahat teak, Salicaceae, and Eugenia. It will also protect endangered species such as Shortridge’s langur and diverse wildlife, including muntjacs, sambar deer, wild boar, rhesus monkey, jungle cat, red jungle fowl, peacock, various birds, and other fauna. Additionally, it will ensure that the water resources are sustainable and crucial for monks, missionaries, urban dwellers, and villagers alike. — MNA/TMT

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Visitor arrivals rise despite monsoon in Kalaw’s popular destinations
Thousands flock to Taungthaman Bridge and Lake amid rising water
Myanmar’s Response to Joint Press Statement by EU and some countries on Humanitarian Situation in Myanmar
MoI Union Minister inspects renovation work on Mawgun film branch
Village income enhancement project to expand to 221 villages this FY
Nearly 1,300 private schools registered in Myanmar; More applications pending
Control efforts intensified despite diarrhoea case decline in Yangon Region
Myanmar National Flag to be hoisted at half-mast on 77th Martyrs’ Day
India donates telecobalt, radiotherapy machines to YGH
MPMDMA sells rare medicines to public at distribution prices