MPs discusses appointing female admins, speeding vehicles, one stop services

U Ti Khon Myat2 copy
Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat. Photo: MNA

In yesterday’s seventh-day meeting of the 9th regular session of the second Pyithu Hluttaw, the Speaker announced that the Pyithu Hluttaw will put on record and observe the motion tabled by U Tin Ko Ko Oo (a) U Athut of Bilin constituency concerning the upgrading and implementation of One Stop Shops and One Stop Services for supporting the implementation of the democratic reforms and strengthening trust between the people and the government by providing effective services from government departments.

Appointing female administrators in government departments
During the meeting, Deputy Minister for Home Affairs Maj-Gen Aung Thu replied to a question raised by U Zaw Min Thein of Laymyethna constituency asking whether there are plans to appoint female administrators in township, district, state and regional level general administration departments under the Ministry of Home Affairs.
The Deputy Minister replied that female staff will receive their due promotions and benefits in line with the National Civil Servant Law and regulations and thus it is possible for current female staff to eventually be promoted to an administrator position.

Effective measures against speeding, accidents on highways
U Maung Maung Oo of Insein constituency raised a question asking what measures are taken to identify, arrest and act against vehicles driving past the speeding limit on the Yangon-Mandalay Highway.
The Deputy Minister replied that they raise awareness on road safety by publishing information in state newspapers and broadcasting them on SkyNet Up To Date programs. He said the highway police force use modern red flax (radar system) equipment to capture images of vehicles going past the 100 km/hr speed limit.
The images are shared via the Viber communication system to the Highway Preservation and Management Group at toll gates and mini toll gates, the highway police force, the Fire Services Department (Highway), and the respective administrative bodies in wards and villages, so that they may take appropriate legal action against the perpetrators. According to Section 58-A of the Motor Vehicle
Law, a maximum prison sentence of one month, a penalty of Ks50,000, or both, can be charged against perpetrators, explained the Deputy Minister.
The National Road Safety Council led by Vice President U Henry Van Thio supervises affiliated state and regional organizations and committees to effectively act against vehicles driving past the speed limit. Penalties fined from the cases are added into the Union Budget, said the Deputy Minister.
The Deputy Minister also replied to questions raised by U Sai Ngaung Sai Hein of Maukmai constituency, Daw Aye Aye Mu (a) Daw Shar Mee of Kalay constituency, Dr. U Aung Naing of Thabeikkyin constituency and Daw Yin Min Hlaing of Gangaw constituency.

One Stop Services for the public
U Tin Ko Ko Oo (a) U Athut of Bilin constituency tabled a motion for the upgrading and implementation of One Stop Shops and One Stop Services by government departments, and the motion was discussed by six Hluttaw representatives.
Dr. Khin Sithu of Loikaw constituency said the one stop shops opened in township administration offices will be more effective if improvements and upgrades were made according to the four objectives laid down, but added that the objectives did not specify clear policies and guidelines.

He said there should be consideration for adhering to the democratic system and privatization in designing policies and guidelines.

The one stop services should be relevant to the respective region, cooperation should be strengthened between the people and staff and between individual staff members, providing workshops on simple and effective guidelines for relevant authorities and staff from ministry departments, placing the local anti-corruption commission office in the one stop shop for easy access, as well as choosing a suitable and readily accessible location for the one stop shop.
U Sai Ngaung Sai Hein of Maukmai constituency, U Nyan Lin of Shwepyitha constituency, U Bo Gyi of Chauk constituency and U Sai Thiha Kyaw of Mongyan constituency further discussed the motion.
Deputy Minister for Home Affairs Maj-Gen Aung Thu explained that the One Stop Shop Establishing and Implementation Work Committee was founded on 20 May 2015 to provide government services to the public in one location, to promote public trust on government departments, and to provide checks and balances among head departments. The work committee was reformed on 23 August 2016.
One Stop Service is also available in the Thilawa Special Economic Zone for performing company registration procedures with nine different government departments in one location.
A One Stop Service is also available at the 105-mile trading zone in Muse Township for performing trade license procedures with twelve different government departments in a single location.
The Deputy Minister said there are 94 One Stop Services currently being provided and the remaining 66 services will be gradually provided as the e-government system develops. He said it will take time for them to accomplish all of their set processes and to draft laws for the public one stop services, so therefore asked for the Hluttaw to put the motion on record.
The Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker called for the resolution of the Hluttaw and after receiving it, announced that the Hluttaw has agreed to put the motion on record for observation.
The eight-day meeting of the 9th regular session of the second Pyithu Hluttaw will be held on 10 August.


Aye Aye Thant (MNA)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News