Site icon Global New Light Of Myanmar

Myanmar govt extends entry restrictions for all travellers until 31 Aug

The Central Committee on Prevention, Control and Treatment of COVID-19 has announced that Myanmar has extended the restriction on entry of travellers until 31 August to prevent the spread of COVID-19.
The announcement was made by Myanmar’s Foreign Ministry. The Ministry has further extended the entry restrictions for all travellers to the end of August amid the COVID-19 pandemic.
All of these restrictions were extended till 31 July 2021 earlier, but the restriction has now been extended until 31 August.
Just like the previous announcements, foreign nationals, including diplomats and UN officials, who wish to travel to Myanmar by relief or special flights due to urgent official missions or compelling reasons, are asked to contact the nearest Myanmar mission for possible exceptions to certain visa restrictions.
To prevent the blowout of COVID-19 in Myanmar through air travel, the Ministry of Transport and Communication also issued a further extension of the suspension period of international commercial flights till 31 August.
Myanmar has received US$69.2 million as revenue from e-Visa and over 1.7 million tourists applied for e-Visa from 2016 to August 2020, according to the official data of the Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population.
Myanmar National Airlines, which is a state-owned airline, is planning to fly its relief flights to Manila, Singapore and Bangkok in August. On 3 August, MAN will fly Yangon-Manila-Yangon relief flight for its passengers going to Manila, Philippines and Myanmar citizens who want to return to Myanmar.
Besides, the Yangon-Singapore-Yangon relief flight will operate every Monday and Saturday in August while Yangon-Bangkok-Yangon special relief flight will run every Wednesday.
Myanmar has reported a total of 294,460 COVID-19 infections, with 8942 deaths as of 31 July. At the same time, a total of 205,677 patients have been discharged from hospitals and recovered from the virus.
The government authorities have also imposed a stay home order in 108 townships across the country as part of the measures to control the spreading of COVID-19 infections. — Aye Maung/GNLM

Exit mobile version