Myanmar parliamentary delegates ‘attend’ videoconference of 41st AIPA

The 41st General Assembly of the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly (AIPA 41) discussed a series of important issues during its second working day yesterday.
The AIPA Committee on Political Matters was taken part by Myanmar parliamentary delegates, led by the group leader and the chairman of AIPA joint committee U Zaw Thein together with Dr Than Win and U Maung Maung Latt, via the videoconferencing.
One of the issues tabled at the meeting was the ‘Parliamentary Diplomacy for Sustainable Peace, Security and Prosperity in ASEAN’.
In his discussion, U Zaw Thein made objections against OP 9 and OP 10 in the draft motion in relations to Rakhine State in accordance with the policy of ‘non-interference in the internal affairs of ASEAN Member States’ in the ASEAN Charter. The draft motion was not approved due to the lack of general consent of AIPA member countries.
The AIPA Committee on Economic Matters was joined by Pyithu Hluttaw representatives U Naing Htoo Aung and U Bo Bo Oo, and Amyotha Hluttaw representative Daw Shwe Shwe Sein Latt. The meeting discussed the topic ‘The Role of Parliaments in Promoting ASEAN Cohesiveness and Economic Recovery in post COVID-19’.
In the afternoon, the AIPA Committee on Social Matters held talks on the report (2) and the topic of ‘Enhancing the role of AIPA to support the ASEAN Social-Cultural Community in responding to the COVID-19’. The discussion was taken part by Pyithu Hluttaw representatives Dr San Shwe Win and Dr Khin Soe Soe Kyi, and Amyotha Hluttaw Representative U Maung Maung Latt.
Amyotha Hluttaw representatives Dr Than Win and Dr Win Myint, and Pyithu Hluttaw representative U Zar Ni Min took part in the discussion of AIPA secretariat where three reports of administrative affairs and 13 draft motions were approved.
The Second Plenary Session and closing ceremony of 41st AIPA will be held on 10 September.—MNA (Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News