Myanmar placed in tough group for 2022 AFC Women’s Cup Championship

Myanmar in tough group mk
A group table for the AFC Women’s Asian Cup.

Following the official draw ceremony held yesterday virtually in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Myanmar women’s football team are set in a tough Group C together with Japan, South Korea and Viet Nam.
According to the group vote, host India is falling in Group A together with China, China Taipei and Iran.
Meanwhile, ASEAN superstar team Thailand is placed in Group B with Australia, the Philippines, and Indonesia.
The tournament will be held in India from 20 January to 6 February 2022, with the first and second-placed teams from three groups, best two teams in the third place will advance to the quarter-finals.
The quarter-finalists are expected to qualify for the Women’s World Cup in 2023, co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.
FIFA has increased the number of teams in the upcoming Women’s World Cup, with five teams having direct access to join the tourney, host Australia and two teams from the other continents are allowed to compete in the play-offs.
Therefore, the Myanmar team are aiming to qualify for the 2023 Women’s World Cup but is likely to work harder in the group stage.
This is the fifth time that the Myanmar women’s team have qualified for the final round of the Asian Cup Women’s Championship in 2006, 2010 and 2014 but the team were eliminated from the group stage. —Ko Nyi Lay/GNLM

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News