Myanmar sign agreement on establishment of Asian Forest Cooperation Organisation

Agreement on the establishment of Asian Forest Cooperation Organization (AFoCO) was signed by Union Minister for Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation U Ohn Win at a ceremony held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Seoul, the Republic of Korea on 31 July.
Indonesia, Viet Nam, Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Bhutan, Brunei and the Republic of Korea have signed the agreement. Signing of the agreement reduces the effect of climate change through firm processes converted from implementing good technologies and policies of sustainable forest management framework and increases cooperation in regional forestry works resulting in closer cooperation between the government and organization. Through cooperation and sharing of technologies between member countries in research and development work, modern techniques, policies and experiences are gained for progress and development of Myanmar forestry works.
Construction of ASEAN-Korea Forest Cooperation Regional Education and Training Center (AFoCo RETC) was started in Hmawbi, Yangon Region on 1 November 2015 and will be completed on 23 December 2017. The project period of the center is 10 years from 2014 to 2023 and support fund is US$ 6.6 million. Short term one week courses and long-term 2 weeks to 6 months courses will be provided to invited trainees from countries of the Asia region.
During his trip to Korea, the Union Minister visited the Korean National Arboretum and Forest Museum and viewed the maintaining of biodiversity, research and development processes, and preservation technology on species and tree resources. Forest Department is collecting and recording species, resources lists, flower samples in Myanmar forests together with Korean National Arboretum it is learnt.

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News