Myanmar-Thai haze pollution committee holds meeting

1 3 sskm
The coordination meeting of the Myanmar-Thai Transboundary Haze Pollution Prevention Committee in progress yesterday in Nay Pyi Taw.

The coordination meeting of the Myanmar-Thai Transboundary Haze Pollution Prevention Committee was held in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday.
Speaking at the event, Deputy Minister for Defence Maj-Gen Ko Lay, who is also Chairman of the committee, said the country signed the ASEAN Agreement on Transboundary Haze Pollution (AATHP) on 10 June 2002 and participated in the tripartite coordination meeting on transboundary haze pollution between Myanmar, Thai and Laos on 7 April 2023.
He added that at that meeting, the State Administration Council Chairman Prime Minister discussed the reduction of hill-side cultivation at the border of three countries, the implementation of highland farmlands and systematic disposal of waste through modern technology.
He then called for active participation in implementing preventive measures against transboundary haze pollution. Committee Vice-Chairman Deputy Minister Maj-Gen Phyo Thant also discussed the challenges and ongoing measures against transboundary haze pollution.
Then, the attendees participated in the discussion regarding the effective measures to reduce fire hotspots and prevent haze pollution. — MNA/KTZH

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Myanmar’s agri-produce exports surpass US$1.5B by 12 July
Baby White Elephant thrives with mother
Myanmar students participate in “We Are the BRIDGE Festival 2024” in Japan
2024 Inter-State/Region U-21 Men’s Football Tournament opens
DPM MoD Union Minister speaks at 8th Myanmar National Culture Central Committee meeting
DPM MoFA Union Minister attends Welcome Dinner of 8th China-South Asia Expo & 28th China Kunming Export & Import Fair
DPM MoD Union Minister attends Cultural Heritage Preservation Steering Committee meeting
Clarification by SAC Information Team Leader on handover of duties and functions of Pro Tem President to SAC Chairman for taking measures of National Defence and Security Council
MoFA Deputy Minister receives BIMSTEC Secretary-General during his Introductory Visit to Myanmar
MoSWRR Union Minister receives ICRC Resident Representative