Myawady FC to compete in AFC Women’s Club Championship

371349632 sskm
The Myawady FC players celebrating as they crowned the 2023 Myanmar Women’s League title. PHOTO: MWL

Myawady FC will have the right to represent Myanmar in the 2024-2025 AFC Women’s Club Championship, which the Asian Football Confederation will hold for the first time.
Myawady FC won the 2023 Myanmar Women’s League Championship, so they have the opportunity to compete in this tourney. According to the format of the competition, the final stage will be held with a total of 12 teams. Eight teams will have the opportunity to play directly, and winners of the qualifiers will seize the remaining four spots of the tourney. A total of 14 teams will compete in the qualifiers, and four teams will qualify for the final stage.
Clubs of Myanmar, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Iran, India, Jordan, Hong Kong, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, the UAE, Singapore, Bhutan and Saudi Arabia will start from the qualifying stage, while Japan, North Korea, Australia, China, South Korea, Vietnam, the Philippines and Chinese Taipei will directly play for the final stage.
The qualifiers will be divided into two groups of four teams as well as two groups of three teams and will be held from 25 to 31 August. A total of four teams from each of the top places will qualify for the final round. The lot-drawing event for the AFC Women’s Club Championship will be launched on 18 July. — Ko Nyi Lay/KZL

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News