New solar power project targets 30 villages in Myeik

Solar copy
Electricians installing solar panel system at a village in Myeik Township, Taninthayi Region. Photo: Myint Oo (Myeik)

Under the National Electrification Plan, a new solar power project will be implemented in villages across Myeik Township in Myeik District of Taninthayi Region in the current financial year, said Township Administrator U Kyaw Win
Under the project, solar power will be supplied for home as well as public use in 30 villages in ten village-tracts. Units of 60 watts and 100 watts will be supplied to households, and solar panels will be installed in schools, rural clinics, religious buildings, and lampposts.
Solar panels will be installed in 1,545 households in the 30 villages, including Taungshe, Taungnyo, Pyintaung, Tattaung, Kabin, Lutlut, Salon, Anaukminthan, Minthan, Thetkelkyin, Shantaung, Thityawa, Kanpyin, Panataung, Thabya, Alechaung, Shwekusu, Hseeainsu, Kyaukbyu, Daw, Taungphila, Kahan, Khonmawashe, Kintat,
Byingyi, Shanhtain, Waingtaung, Zawe, Palon, and Kyaungtaung.
Solar panels will also be installed at eight basic education primary schools, one middle school, one high school, three rural health branches, 15 religious buildings, and 105 lampposts. Users will have to pay K50,000 for 60 watts of power and K150,000 for 100 watts, under an instalment payment plan. —Myint Oo (Myeik)
(Translated by Khaing Thanda Lwin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News