Site icon Global New Light Of Myanmar


Amyotha Hluttaw elects new speaker, deputy speaker

U Mann Win Khaing Than (Left) and U Aye Tha Aung (Right) swear in as the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw. Photo: MNA

THE Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) was convened in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday, electing U Mann Win Khaing Than as the speaker of the Upper House and U Aye Tha Aung as deputy speaker.
U Mann Win Khaing Than is from Kayin State Constituency-8, while U Aye Tha Aung is from Rakhine State Constituency-6.
Following his swearing in as the speaker, U Mann Win Khaing Than extended greetings, calling on to work together with trust and in a friendly manner, without racism, religious persecution or attachments to personality cults for peace, the rule of law and national reconciliation.
In his speech, the newly elected speaker also stressed the importance of making laws for peace, rule of law and national reconciliation in building a federal, democratic nation.
He also encouraged MPs to work with loyalty in writing a new history for the country while seizing opportunities for building a federal, democratic country.
Among the 224 MPs the Amyotha Hluttaw, 135 are members of the National League for Democracy; 56 are appointees of the Tatmadaw; 11 are from the Union Solidarity and Development Party; 10 are from Arakan National Party; three are from the Shan Nationalities League for Democracy,; two are from the Zomi Congress for Democracy; and one each from the National Unity Party, the Pa-o National Organisation and the Mon National Party.
A total of 223 MPs attended the first session of the second Amyotha Hluttaw; one MP was absent.
The meeting ended at 11am. The second meeting of the Amyotha Hlutaw is scheduled for today.—GNLM

Exit mobile version