Ninth regular session of Second Amyotha Hluttaw holds 15th-day meeting

Untitled 1 copy 3

During the 15th-day meeting of the ninth regular session of the Second Amyotha Hluttaw held at the Amyotha Hluttaw meeting hall of the Hluttaw Building in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday, asterisk marked questions were answered and MPs discussed the Boundary Measurement and Demarcation Bill.

Implementing CBT in endangered Salone ethnic settlements
Dr. Khin Maung Win of Taninthayi Region constituency 11 raised a question on whether community-based tourism (CBT) will be implemented in the ethnically endangered Salone (a) Moken islands of Makyonegalat, Nyaungwi, Jarlan, Jarohn and Langan in Kawthoung District and to protect the settlements, coasts and bays of the islands from the monopolization of hotels and tourism companies.
Union Minister for Hotels and Tourism U Ohn Maung replied that a pilot project for implementing CBT in the Taninthayi Region is being carried out in Samhlam Village in Launglon Twp, and will eventually be followed by Donenyaungmhine Village in Kyunsu Twp, Myeik District and Makyonegalat Village in Kawthoung Twp, Kawthoung District. He also said monopolization will not occur as hotels and tourism companies operating on the islands will require permission from the Myanmar Investment Commission, land lease agreements and BOT contracts, and permits from the regional government and the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism.

Priority given to paving concrete roads in Siitway-Buthidaung pathway
U Khin Maung Latt of Rakhine State constituency 3 raised a question on whether the Mayu bridge on the Sittway-Mayu pathway will be constructed running through Muse island.
Deputy Minister for Construction U Kyaw Lin replied that the Sittway-Ponnagyun-Yathedaung-Buthidaung pathway connecting Sittway Town to Buthidaung Town in Mayu area has been constructed, allowing for direct travel by vehicles along the 79.1-mile road and the nine bridges, each a 180-feet and over, connecting them. Currently a project is underway to upgrade the pathway to a concrete road that will allow vehicles to access the road in all weather, taking only 3:30 hrs from Sittway to Buthidaung, he said. He added that concrete roads are also being paved from Angumaw to Maungtaw.
The deputy minister said the pathway to be constructed trough Muse island, as oart if the Sittway-Ponnagyun-Yathedaung-Buthidaung pathway will require building three bridges measuring 4,300 feet, 550 feet and 14,300 feet respectively. He said the costs for this part of the pathway is too high and priority is given to complete paving the concreted roads on the original pathway. He added that a prefeasibility study will be conducted to include the pathway through Muse island in the long-term road network development program.

Gottwin bridge to attract tourists, land confiscation act may be enforced
U Sai Ohn Kyaw of Shan State constituency 4 raised a question concerning the project for Nawnghkio Town bypass project in Kyaukme District, Shan State (North), also called the new Gottwin bridge access road project.
Deputy Minister U Kyaw Lin replied that the bypass and Gottwin bridge will be constructed 696 meters from the
world famous Goteik viaduct, and once completed will allow a view of the famed viaduct thus attracting world travelers. The bridge will be built using the balance cantilever method combined with cable stayed, a technique never before seen in Myanmar.

The deputy minister said the project cost will be partially covered by Oriental Highway Co. Ltd and will require two separate expenditure of Ks 40 billion and US$ 120.77 million. He said the bypass and bridge will take up 169.99 acres of agricultural land in Kyaukme Twp and 329.74 acres of agricultural land and forest area in Nawnghkio Twp. He said 36.35 acres of the combined areas are state-owned and thus require no compensation. The remaining 463.38 acres belong to 283 local residents and a total compensation capital of Ks 6.173 billion has been acquired in the fiscal year 2017-2018, handled by the Department of Bridges.
The deputy minister said 73 per cent of the compensation has been paid to local residents and he urged regional Hluttaw representatives to negotiate with the 62 local residents who have yet to accept the compensation. He added that Union Government has approved of the Shan State government’s appeal to follow the 1894 Land Confiscation Act if negotiations fail.
MPs suggest amendments to national boundary bill
MPs then discussed the Boundary Measurement and Demarcation Bill.
The bill was discussed by Dr. Kun Win Thaung of Kachin State constituency 11, U Win Myint from Magway Region constituency 8, U Tin Aung Tun of Magway Region constituency 5 and U Soe Thein (a) U Maung Soe of Taninthayi Region constituency 10. Afterwards, Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than announced that the Pyithu Hluttaw has sent back with amendments the 2017 Myanmar Gemstone Bill, sent with approval by the Amyotha Hluttaw. He called for MPs interested in discussing the bill to enroll their names.
The 16th-day meeting of the ninth regular session of the Second Amyotha Hluttaw will be held on 7 September.

Aung Ye Thwin

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News