Peace process explained to locals in southern Shan State

DSC 9920 0
Union Minister U Kyaw Tint Swe explains development of peacemaking process at Shan State Government Office in Taunggyi, Shan State on 15 September 2020. PHOTO: MNA

Union Minister for the State Counsellor’s Office U Kyaw Tint Swe, in his capacity as Vice-Chairman of the National Reconciliation and Peace Centre, explained Myanmar’s peace process to the local people in southern Shan State from 15 to 17 September. During the tour, he was accompanied by member of the Peace Commission and Deputy Minister for Ethnic Affairs U Hla Maw Oo and officials and held meetings with members of local government, state Hluttaw representatives and members of leading committees in Taunggyi, Pindaya Township of Danu Self-Administered Zone, and Hopong Township of Pa-O Self-Administered Zone. U Kyaw Tint Swe and party explained the peace process at the headquarters of the Shan State government on 15 September, and it was attended by Chief Minister Dr Linn Htut and his government members, while State Hluttaw Speaker U Sai Long Hseng and Hluttaw representatives joined the meeting through videoconferencing.
The peace process was also explained in Pindaya of Danu Self-Administered Zone to members of its leading body led by U Nyi Nyi (a) U Nyi Lay Chan on 16 September, in Hopong Township of Pa-O Self-Administered Zone to its Chairman Khun San Lwin and members of its leading body on 17 September morning, and at the government headquarters of Shan State in Taunggyi Township to Chairman of Palaung Self-Administered Zone U Win Kyaw (a) U Aik Mein and its members on 17 September in the afternoon.
The events to explain the peace process were all held in accordance with the COVID-19 rules and regulations. During the tour, Union Minister U Kyaw Tint Swe paid respects to the leading monk of Sunlun Monastery in Taunggyi, Chairman of the State Sangha Nayaka Committee, the Oxford Sayadaw from the Shan State Buddhist University and leading monk of Aung Myae Bon San Monastery, the 8888 Sayadaw.
The Union Minister and party also made visits to the Ywa Ngal and Kan Htaung Monasteries in Pindaya Township of Danu Self-Administered Zone, the Sasana Lankara and Naung Taung monasteries in Hopong Township of Pa-O Self-Administered Zone, where they donated Waso robes to the Sayadaws.—MNA (Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News