Site icon Global New Light Of Myanmar

Plans underway to implement 10 zones of future water supply projects in Yangon City

117 sskm

Skilled workers are connecting water pipelines for supply of water being implemented by YCDC.

Yangon City Development Committee is implementing 10 water supply project zones for ensuring water sufficiency of local people in the future.
Number of population in Yangon City is growing day by day. Depending on the current situation, population density will increase in the city. As such, the YCDC is implementing 10 water supply zones to be facilitated with the disinfection system for supplying drinking water to the local people through supervisory control and data acquisition system with the use of transmission pipe network.
Ten water supply zones will fulfill the needs of water deficiency areas by sharing water sources. Among these zones, No 1 zone covers Botahtaung, Pazundaung, Kyauktada, Pabedan, Mingala Taungnyunt, Tamway, Lanmadaw, Latha, Ahlon, Kyimyindine, Dagon, Bahan and Sangyoung townships.
Zone 2 comprises Thakayta, Dawbon and Thingangyun townships, Zone 3 Mayangon, Hline, Yankin and South Okkalapa townships, Zone 4 North Okkalapa, southern Mingaladon and southern Insein townships, Zone 5 Shwepyitha, northern Insein and central Mingaladon townships, Zone 6 northern Mingaladon township, Zone 7 Dagon Myothit (East) and (North) townships, Zone 8 Dagon Myothit (Seikkan) and (South) townships, Zone 9 Hlinethaya and Zone 10 Dala, Seikkyi Khanaungto and western part of Kyimyindine townships. Townships from these zones start getting the water.
The water collection tank with 86 metres in length, 45 metres in width and 14 metres in depth and the water raising pump were built for supplying 27 million gallons of water to Dagon Myothit (Seikkan) and (South) township on a daily basis in the Zone 8. During the period when Lagunbyin water supply project is being implemented, seven million gallons of water has been implemented to Thingangyun, Dawbon, Thakayta, Dagon Myothit(South) and (Seikkan) townships daily.
At present, Hlawga Dam supplies 90 million gallons of water, Gyobyu Dam 30 million, Ngamoeyeik Dam 90 million and Lagunbyin Dam 10 million totalling 220 million gallons of water.—Soe Myint Aung

Exit mobile version