President seeks to change two, out of four portfolios of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi


PRESIDENT U Htin Kyaw today submitted to Pyidaungsu Hluttaw proposal for changing two out of four portfolios held by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi.

The president nominated U Myo Thein Gyi, who is currently the Director-General of the Ministry of Education, as Union Minister of Education and U Pe Zin Tun, who is currently the permanent secretary of Ministry of Electric Power, as Union Minister of Electric Power and Energy.

Aung San Suu Kyi’s first two portfolios, Union Minister for Foreign Affairs and Union Minister at the President’s Office, remained unchanged.

U Htin Kyawalso sought approval for appointment of U Tun Tun Oo as Attorney-General of the Union and U Maw Than, the well-known economist of the country, as the Auditor-General of the Union.

U Tun Tun Oo was Deputy Attorney-General of the previous government and U Maw Than is a retired rector of Institute of Economics.

Speaker of  the parliament Mahn Win Khaing Than invited MPs to discuss the president’s proposals tomorrow if they wish to object the nominations.

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News