Pyithu Hluttaw discusses power sector

Untitled 1 copy 7

The seventh regular session of the second Pyithu Hluttaw held its 27th-day meeting at the Pyithu Hluttaw meeting hall yesterday morning.
At the meeting, U Sai Aung Kyaw of Kehsi constituency asked if there was a plan to release to the public the Namt Tone Pond and the catchment area of 31 acres, as well as 165 acres of farmlands to the original owners, after the lands were confiscated by infantry battalion 131 in Kehsi Township. Deputy Minister for Defence Rear Admiral Myint Nwe said the lands were included in the 580 acres of armed force land under infantry battalion 131, and the land was granted to the battalion by the order of the Ministry of Home Affairs dated 15 January 2004. In the question, it was stated that 165 acres are farmlands, but when the infantry battalion took over the land, there were only 15 acres of temporary hillside farmlands without any ownership documents. Some 3.5 acres were a cemetery that had already been relocated when the infantry battalion took over the land.
The Namt Tone Pond fills up through groundwater seepage, and the town people are using it as a source of water supply, as well as for electricity supply by setting up a small mini hydro power plant. Furthermore, it was being learnt that in the 2017-2018 fiscal year (FY) budget, the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation has allocated Ks187 million to maintain the pond.
Therefore, Namt Tone Pond and its watershed area of 31 acres will be released to the people according to their demands. The so-called 165 acres of farmlands, however, were granted to the battalion by the Ministry of Home Affairs, and there is no evidence of past ownership. Furthermore, they are close to the battalion buildings and due to security reasons, cannot be released back, said the deputy minister.
Deputy Minister for Electricity and Energy Dr. Tun Naing replied to a question posed by U Toe Thaung of Mongmit constituency on the plan to provide 24 hours of electricity to Mongmit Town. To provide electricity to Mongmit 24 hours per day, electricity has to be transmitted from 132-KV Letpanhla substation to Zayetkwin substation through 24.65 miles of the Mogok-Mongmit 66-KV power line and a 66/11-KV 5 MVA substation constructed in Mongmit Town. These works were conducted with the union fund for the 2014-2015 FY budget. To connect the four wards in Mongmit with the Mongmit substation, 6 miles of 11-KV power line, six 11/0.4-KV transformers and 14.5 miles of a 400-volt power line were constructed with the State government’s fund for the 2014-2015 FY and the 2016-2017 FY. To provide 14 villages in Mongmit Township with electricity, 10.8 miles of 11-KV power line, 21 11/0.4-KV transformers and 21.97 miles of a 400-volt power line were constructed with the State government fund in the 2016-2017 FY and the 2017-2018 FY, said the deputy minister.
At the moment, electricity is being provided to Mogok from Zayetkwin by a 33-KV power line, but the power line’s life was long, and it passed through deep forests and mountains causing leakage and resulting in unsatisfactory power supply to Mogok. So, a new 66-KV power line was constructed and completed in early March. The shift from the old to new power line has not yet taken place to avoid disruption during the matriculation examination.

Once the examination is over, electricity will be transmitted to Mogok via the 66-KV line by 20 to 22 March, explained the Deputy Minister. Replying to a question by U Pe Than of Myebon constituency on the arrangements made to provide electricity to town folks in Myebon Town and villages in the Myebon Township, through which the national grid line passes, Deputy Minister for Electricity and Energy Dr. Tun Naing said that of the 2,600 households in Rakhine State’s Myebon Township, more than half were provided with electricity. To complete power distribution to the remaining wards of the town, a 2,060-foot-long 400-volt power line has been laid in the 2017-2018 FY period with additional funds from the State government.
Arrangements are being made to construct a 11/0.4-KV 200 KVA transformer for Thedan Ward with the 2017-2018 FY State government’s excess fund, added the Deputy Minister. To distribute electricity to the six villages of Kyetyegyi, Wa Kauk Gyi, Pyin Chaung, Pyin Ngakhu, Ngamangyi and Lun Lone Pike in Myebon Township, the Rakhine State government’s fund will be earmarked in the 2018-2019 FY budget to construct some 11 miles of 11-KV power line, eight 11/0.4-KV transformers and 5.5 miles of a 400-volt power line.
To provide electricity to villages in Myebon Township, where the national grid line passes through, the laying of 27.5 miles of 33-KV power line and the construction of a new 33/11-KV 5 MVA substation has been planned for the 2021-2022 five-year plan, explained the deputy minister.
Similarly, questions raised by U Aung Thike of Seikpyu constituency, U Khin Maung Myint of Yaksawk constituency and U Tha Aung of Myothit constituency were answered by Deputy Minister for Electricity and Energy Dr. Tun Naing. Next, the Hluttaw was submitted with a bill on the protection of wildlife and the conservation of natural areas, sent back by the Amyotha Hluttaw with amendments.
An announcement was made on the Hluttaw’s agreement and confirmation of the bill after the Pyithu Hluttaw speaker took the decision. Later, bill committee secretary U Kyaw Soe Lin tabled a motion to obtain the decision of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw by submitting the points of contention between the two Hluttaws on the bill on the protection of wildlife and the conservation of natural areas, to which Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U Win Myint suggested that the matter be submitted to the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw. The 28th-day meeting of the seventh regular session of the second Pyithu Hluttaw will be held on 14 March.


Aye Aye Thant
(Myanmar News Agency)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News