State Counsellor inspects second voting demonstration under COVID-19 guidelines in Nay Pyi Taw

DSC 3040 0
State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi views voting demonstration at No. 1 polling booth in Zeyartheikdi ward in Zabuthiri Township of Nay Pyi Taw Union Territory on 13 October. Photo : MNA

State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi inspected the second voting demonstration in Nay Pyi Taw Union Territory yesterday morning. The demonstrations were prepared for ensuring healthcare guidelines of COVID-19 containment measures during the 2020 General Election on 8 November. The State Counsellor arrived at the No. 5 Basic Education High School in Zabuthiri Township in Nay Pyi Taw, where she was welcomed by Chairman of the Union Election Commission U Hla Thein, Union Minister for Union Government Office U Min Thu, Union Minister for Health and Sports Dr Myint Htwe, Chairman of the Nay Pyi Taw Council Dr Myo Aung, members of UEC, Deputy Minister Dr Mya Lay Sein and officials.
Director-General of UEC Office U Khin Maung Oo reported on the implementation of guidelines recommended by the State Counsellor during the first voting demonstration, duty assignments outside the polling booth with public service personnel for taking body temperature first, distribution of N95 masks and spray of 85 per cent alcohol sanitizer and two volunteers to assist them, in addition to the three polling station staff members.
He also presented the distribution of surgical gloves for the polling station staff members, the place to discard voter identity cards, preparations for good ventilation and sufficient space at the temporary polling booths, 6-ft social distancing at the voter queuing line, and distribution of holders and lanyards for national scrutiny cards. The State Counsellor and party visited No. 1 polling station in Zeyartheikdi Ward in Zabuthiri Township for inspecting demonstrations on healthcare measures, and preparations of voting station officers for completion of their work during the prescribed voting hour. At the model polling station in No. 5 Basic Education High School of Zabuthiri Township set up for the No. 1 polling booth in Yankin Township in Yangon, the State Counsellor inspected the demonstrations of staff members at the voting station.
During the inspections, the State Counsellor advised on timely completion of the processes during the prescribed voting hours in line with COVID-19 containment guidelines, distribution of N95 masks for voters in advance, easy and smooth process for voting inside the booths, erecting awareness signboards for voting in line with the healthcare guidelines and other suggestions.
The State Counsellor then greeted in a warm and friendly manner all the office staff who participated in the demonstrations from UEC office, the Ministry of State Counsellor Office, and the Ministry of Union Government Office, and asked them about difficulties encountered and voting processes which were causing delays. She then instructed responsible officials to make advance corrective measures for processes that need to be corrected. Polling booth No. 1 in Zeyartheikdi Ward at No. 5 Basic Education High School in Zeyarthiri Township is the voting station for 2,103 voters, and No. 1 polling booth in Ward 1 of Yankin Township in Yangon Region is prepared for 811 eligible voters.
According to the updated data, the number of voters in respective townships of Nay Pyi Taw Union Territory will be 85,513 in Zabuthiri Township, 27,786 in Dekkhinathiri Township, 132,457 in Pyinmana Township, 217,620 in Lewe Township, 79,029 in Zeyathiri Township, 178,844 in Tatkon, 92,869 in Pubbathiri Township and 52,469 in Ottarathiri Township.—MNA (Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News