State Counsellor inspects third voting demonstration in Nay Pyi Taw

DSC 4541 0
State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi looks into voting demonstration in Ottarathiri Township in Nay Pyi Taw on 20 October . Photo : MNA

State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi inspected the third voting practical demonstration in Nay Pyi Taw Union Territory yesterday morning. The demonstrations were organized to ensure the voting process adhere to healthcare guidelines of COVID-19 containment measures during the 2020 General Election. On arrival at the primary school in Chin Village in Ottarathiri Township in the morning, the State Counsellor and party were welcomed by Chairman of the Union Election Commission U Hla Thein, Union Minister for Office of the Union Government U Min Thu, Union Minister for Health and Sports Dr Myint Htwe, Chairman of the Nay Pyi Taw Council Dr Myo Aung, members of UEC, Deputy Minister Dr Mya Lay Sein and officials.
Director-General of UEC Office U Khin Maung Oo reported on the third demonstration, the number of expected voters on election day, assignment of duties for 13 officers inside and 5 officers outside polling stations, physical safety and feeling of security of voters during voting processes in accordance with the guidelines of the State Counsellor on the first and second demonstrations under rules and regulations of the elections and distributions of COVID-19 preventive supplies to the voters in line with the guidelines of the COVID-19 national-level central committee.

The primary school in Chin Village will be used as the polling station No.1 of the Ottarathiri Township, and the practical demonstration was organized for distribution of N95 masks, taking body temperature, helping to use alcohol 85% hand sanitizer, and completion of voting processes during the prescribed voting hour.
The State Counsellor then gave the advice to prepare for the convenience of voters and to erect information and education signboards for the safety of voters inside the polling stations. The No.1 polling station at the primary school will be used for 1,526 voters. The UEC has updated that the number of voters in respective townships of Nay Pyi Taw Union Territory is recorded at 89,816 in Zabuthiri Township, 28,167 in Dekkhinathiri Township, 134,603 in Pyinmana Township, 218,671 in Lewe Township, 81,750 in Zeyathiri Township, 178,844 in Tatkon, 94,116 in Pubbathiri Township and 52,469 in Ottarathiri Township.—MNA (Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News