Vice President U Henry Van Thio speaks on 72nd Anniversary of Chin National Day

DSC 3242 0

Vice President U Henry Van Thio delivers the opening speech at the 72nd Chin National Day celebration in Pyinmana, Nay Pyi Taw Council Area, yesterday. Photo: MNA

Vice President U Henry Van Thio delivered a speech on the occasion of the 72nd Chin National Day celebration held at the Mingalabyuha Sasana Beikman in Pyinmana Township, Nay Pyi Taw Council yesterday evening.
U Tual Ngin read out the founding history of the Chin National Day at the event.
Then, Member U Tual Cin Paul of the Constitutional Tribunal of the Union read out the message of felicitations sent by Union President U Win Myint to the 72nd Anniversary Chin National Day.
Next, Vice President U Henry Van Thio said in his address: “If we look back into the past, we can see that the founding history of the Chin National Day as well as the history of Chin nationals have been initiated since the time under the colonial yoke. The historical records indicate that Chin nationals have taken whatever weapons they could get and whatever responsibilities they could choose by sacrificing their lives and properties to fight back the colonialists in the battles in Paletwa and Lushay Hills during the First Anglo-Burmese War in 1824-1826, and in the Independence Struggle under the colonial rule as well as in the battles to regain Independence.
The Chin National Day was designated after a historic decision to transform a feudal administrative system into a democratic administrative system was made on 20 February 1948. The transformation process could not be executed without difficulty but it can be accomplished with unanimous agreement among Chin nationals against tough historical backgrounds. I like to express my delight and pride as the Chin National Day means a Democracy Day for Chin ethnic national races.
As you are aware, Chin National leaders took the leading and very important role in designating the Chin National Day. I’d like to disclose some Chin National Leaders, who are respectable and historically significant throughout the history before and after our Independence. Bo Kyum Bik and Bo Khai Kam were leaders in the Independence Struggle against the British colonialists. Three Chin nationals of the Panglong signatories were U Hlur Hmung, U Thawng Za Khup and U Kio Mang. Chin National U Wam Thu Maung also took the lead submitting an independence proposal, on behalf of hilly regions, to the Naythurein Assembly held at Kandawgyi in Yangon. He also put forward the AFPFL’s demand for simultaneous independence regardless of hilly regions and central plains. And Aung San Thuria Title Holder Captain Thura Aung San Thuriya Taik Chun also took his responsibilities towards the nation diligently with much of his sacrifices. All the Chin nationals put our Chin National Leaders on the record from our hearts.
Furthermore, we have many Chin ethnic nationals who have received the highest titles such as Maha Thayay Sithu, Sithu and Thiha Thura, Thura from the State as well as from the Tatmadaw. I take pride for Chin nationals in this regard. All Chin ethnic national races should strive for the emergence of good leaders like our Chin National leaders for the new generations as well as for our motherland Myanmar.
He concluded by expressing his gratitude and thanks to the State leaders for their participation and for their contribution of funds to the Chin National Day celebration as well as to the Chin Social Organizations.
Director-General U Min Aye Ko of the Ministry of Ethnic Affairs then gave cash assistance to Chair U Win Soe Oo of the Chin Nationals Social Organization (Nay Pyi Taw).
The Vice President posed for a group photo with the attendees. This was followed by a performance by the Chin national cultural troupe, dancers and singers.
The attendees concluded the event by singing a song.
Present at the event were Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than, Chairperson U Myo Nyunt of the Constitutional Tribunal of the Union, Union Ministers Dr Pe Myint, U Thant Sin Maung and U Ohn Maung, Nay Pyi Taw Council Chairman Dr Myo Aung, Member U Tual Cin Paul of the Constitutional Tribunal of the Union, the Deputy Ministers, the Nay Pyi Taw Council members, the Nay Pyi Taw Development Committee members and their wives, the departmental heads, the Chin Social Organizations (Nay Pyi Taw) officials, Chin ethnic national races and invited guests. —MNA (Translated by Aungthu Ya)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News