Ex-member of Nay Pyi Taw Development Affairs Committee charged for manipulating CDM

u min thu diagram pptx 72

U Min Thu, an ex-member of the Nay Pyi Taw Development Affairs Committee, has been charged under Section 505-a of the Penal Code at the Pattar Area Police Station in Pobbathiri Township for manipulating the Civil Disobedience Movement-CDM.

He was arrested at the Shwegondine Hotel in the Hotel Zone-2 in Nay Pyi Taw on 26 February.

During interrogation, he confessed that he worked together with Min Ko Naing, Kyaw Min Yu (a) Jimmy to instigate the civil service persons in Nay Pyi Taw Council Area to join CDM.

He said he held a meeting with 10 members of district-level NLD offices on 15 February and formed a CDM supporting team following an instruction letter from U Aung Kyi Nyunt, NLD Central Executive Committee Member, on 14 February. In the letter, U Aung Kyi Nyunt instructed the NLD members in townships to assist in the formation of CDM Supporting Teams which will organize the civil service personnel joining the CDM movement.

He confessed that the CDM Supporting Team was comprised of U Maung Maung Swe (Amyotha Hluttaw Representative of Constituency-9, Mandalay Region), U Kyaw Htwe (Pyithu Hluttaw Representative of Zabuthiri Township), U Win Naing Oo (Secretary of Pyinmana Township NLD), U Kyaw Myint Oo (Amyotha Hluttaw Representative of Constituency-10, Mandalay Region), U Than Soe Aung (Pyithu Hluttaw Representative of Pyinmana Township) and U Zaw Min Oo (Junior Engineer, Department of Agriculture).

To carry out the CDM activities linking with the aforementioned team, U Nay Lin (Relax Vinyl), U Mya Tint (Patron of the district committee of NLD), U Zaw Min Kyaw (Owner of Khit Pya Taik Publishing House in Yangon), U Hla Myo (Myanmar Teachers Union) and U Thant Zin Tun (Pyithu Hluttaw Representative, Dekkhinathiri Township) also joined with the team, he said. The team also received cash assistance from local and foreign donors.

Besides, U Min Thu linked with leaders of protests in Nay Pyi Taw namely U Win Naing Oo (Pyinmana Township NLM Secretary), U Myo Ko Zin Myint (Member of Nay Pyi Taw Youth Working Committee, NLD,) U Kyaw Min Hlaing (Pyithu Hluttaw Representative of Ottarathiri Township), U Hlaing Min Oo (Joint Secretary of Zabuthiri Township NLD) and Aung Aung (Chairman of Pobbathiri Township NLD) and manipulated the protests in Nay Pyi Taw. He also joined with the protestors and instigated the protestors to turn to riots.

Measures were taken to arrest the men in connection with the case and U Kyaw Min Hlaing was arrested on 1 March and U Thant Zin Tun on 2 March respectively. Measures are being taken to arrest the remaining persons.

U Min Thu was charged under Section 505-a of the Penal Code on 7 March. U Kyaw Min Hlaing and U Thant Zin Tun were also charged under the same section at Phayagone Police Station in Ottarathiri Township and at Tharwutti Police Station in Lewe Township respectively on the same day. —MNA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News