14 new district courts expanded in Yangon Region

41KNbBCi 1

The original four district courts of the Yangon Region were abolished and 14 new district courts have been formed, according to the statement of the Chief Justice of the Union Supreme Court on 17 August.
The setup of new district courts to conduct measures of the judiciary was confirmed and approved under the decision of the Union Government meeting (5/2022) held on 29 July 2022 and released Notification No (556/2022) and (572/2022).
“There were township courts respectively in the past and then changed into four districts of Yangon – eastern, western, southern and northern. If there is a criminal case, the township courts prosecute or open the case at the respective district courts. Now, According to the notification, 14 new district courts were set up after abolishing the four original district courts. Such doing is good for the judiciary system. Some district-level cases can cause some transportation issues for clients and defendants,” a lawyer told the GNLM.
The newly expanded district courts are Taikgyi District Court, Hlegu District Court, Hmawby District Court, Mingaladon District Court, Insein District Court, Thingangyun District Court, Botahtaung District Court, Dagon Myothit District Court, Thanlyin District Court, Twantay District Court, Kyauktada District Court, Ahlon District Court, Mayangon District Court and Kamayut District Court.
“The township courts are upgraded into district-level courts. The upgraded courts are newly constructed office buildings and some are just old ones. There would be difficulties with spaces in old office buildings. The main aim is to hear the criminal cases and civil cases,” the GNLM quoted a higher-grade pleader as saying.
There will be one township court each under Taikgyi and Hlegu district court while two under Hmawby District Court, another two under Mingaladon District Court, three under Insein District Court, four under Thingangyun District Court, five under Botahtaung District Court, four under Dagon Myothit District Court, five under Thanlyin District Court, five under Twantay District Court, five under Kyauktada District Court, three under the Ahlon District Court, three under Mayangon District Court and two under Kamayut District Court.
The newly expanded district courts are authorized to hear and pass judgement for criminal cases and civil cases in the townships of these court areas according to Judiciary Law Section 63. —TWA/GNLM

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Ancient Ketumati City preserves walls, moats, and original gateway style
Myanmar’s agricultural exports surpass US$1.1 bln by 14 June
Myanmar student youths to attend BRIDGE Summer Camp-2024 in Japan
Myanmar Embassy clerk in France absent without leave due to personal matter
MoEP Union Minister inspects HED installation at Paunglaung Dam
MoI Union Minister inspects paddy husk gasifier power generation facility
MoTC holds rainy season tree-planting ceremony
Mandalay releases over 217M gallons of wastewater daily
Mawlamyine’s Union National Races Cultural Centre to feature traditional homes of Mon, Kayin, Pa-O, and Bamar
Myanmar participates in commemoration of G-77’s 60th anniversary in Vienna