Fixtures for Suzuki Cup featuring Myanmar team confirmed

Busy footballers from Malaysia (white) and Myanmar (red) including goal keeper Kyaw Zin Htet (green) seen at 2018 tourney of the AFF Suzuki Cup at Bukit Jalil Stadium in Malaysia on 24 November, 2018. Photo: AFF Suzuki Cup

The ASEAN Football Federation has confirmed the fixtures for the 2020 ASEAN Suzuki Cup, which has been postponed due to the COVID-19 epidemic. The tournament is normally scheduled for the end of 2020, but has been postponed to this year due to the pandemic.
However, the 2020 ASEAN Suzuki Cup will be held from 5 December 2021 to 1 January 2022.
The competition will be divided into two groups of five teams, while the semi-finals and finals will be held in two rounds. Host country for the tourney will then be selected according to the pandemic situation and nine teams, including Myanmar, will be able to compete directly from the final stage. According to the ASEAN Football Federation, group matches will be held from 5 to 19 December, first leg of the semi-final on 22 and 23 December, second round on 25 and 26 December, first round of the finals on 29 December and the final second round on 1 January 2022 respectively.
Defending champion Vietnam including Myanmar, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, the Philippines, Cambodia and Laos will compete in the group stage.
Timor-Leste and Brunei, who have the lowest rankings, will play for the qualifier to join the group stage. The group stage draw ceremony be held online on 21 September (Tuesday) and further details will be announced at the same time.
Led by head coach Antoine Hey, Myanmar team will take time to prepare for the tournament, which will take between one and two months.—Ko Nyi Lay/ GNLM

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News