Four doyen literati honoured with Lifetime Awards this year

viber image sskm 2
2021 National Literary Award winners seen along with State Leaders.

As a token of appreciation and acknowledgement by the Government for outstanding performance in writing and compiling for the sake of Myanmar literature throughout their lifetime, four literature scholars were selected and honoured with National Lifetime Awards for Literary Achievements for 2022.
Sayagyi Dr Than Oo (Pyi Soe Min), Sayamagyi Daw Khin Than Win (Kyu Kyu Thin), Sayagyi U Chit San (Chit San Win) and Dr Tun Tint (Dr Tun Tint-Myanmarsar) won such lifetime achievement awards conferred by the National Literary Award Selection Committee, Ministry of Information.
Similarly, the National Literary Award Selection Committee also announced the name list of writers and books, on 18 November, that won national literature awards for their books published for the first time during 2022.
Award winning books and writers in respective genre are “Chit Tay Thi Par Kyay Tamar Poems” (Pan Yagon Publishing House) composed by Maung Sein Naung (Lewe) in Poem (Classical) genre, “Ko Hnint Thet Ko Hnin Set Lo Yway” (Myawady Literature House) written by Wai Lwin Maung in Belle-letters genre, “Pianist Dr U Yee Nwe, the hero of Myanmar Music” (Aryon Oo House) written by Aung Shan Waing (Kyaukmaraw) in Myanmar culture and fine arts genre, “Myanmar’s Metta miracles shall overwhelm the world and other children short stories” (Sarpay Beikman) written by Wutyi Khin (Bago) in Child literature genre, “Superpower Competition and AI technology” (Sarpay Beikman) written by Dr Tin Bhone Kyaw in Translation (General Knowledge) genre, “Applied Land and Administration” (Seikku Cho Cho Publishing House) written by U Kyaw Myint G A in General Knowledge (Arts) genre, “Management of Potential Bio-hazards” (U Han Myo Naung Publishing House) written by Su Hlaing Tint in General Knowledge (Applied Science) genre, “Road Map Treatise on the Sole Way of Escape for Myanmar” (Ayeyawady Publishing House) written by Thet Naing Oo (Kyikar) in Political literature genre, “My Anthology of Nation-Building Endeavours” (Aung Myo Publishing House) written by Win Thein in English Language (General Knowledge), “Let me love you for sweet smelling name” (Lin Lun Khin Publishing House) written by Myaylet Maung Myint Thu in Essay genre and “Myanmar Traditional Painting on the Buddhology” (Kyi Pwar Yay Publishing House) written by Ashin Paññasara (Maha Dhammapala Sayadaw) in Reference genre.
Winners of National Lifetime Awards for Literary Achievements will be honoured with K10 million each and National Literature Awardees with K 3 million each.
The National Literary Award Selection Committee is composed of 24 persons including literary scholars, intellectuals, intelligentsia and experienced veterans from printing and book-publishing industry and systematic selection process consists of three stages, namely preliminary, short-listed and confirmed stages, for each genre. Prize giving ceremony for the above-mentioned winners is scheduled to be held on 13 December.
Honourable literary prize winners are kindly requested to contact the secretariat and administration department at Sarpay Beikman within one week as an urgent matter and to send two coloured photos each of 5 x 7 inches and passport size together with their brief particulars. — TWA/ZN

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News