ME hosts religious titles conferring ceremony in New Delhi

GNLM V sskm
The conferring ceremony of religious titles to three members of the Sangha in progress in New Delhi on 26 May 2024.

The conferring ceremony of religious titles ‘Maha Saddhamma Jotikadhaja’ and ‘Saddhamma Jotikadhaja’ offered by the Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar was held on 26 May 2024 at the Myanmar Embassy in New Delhi.
State Ovadacariya Sitagu Sayadaw Abhidhaja Maha Rattha Guru Dr Ashin Nyanissara, Sangha Raja of Shwekyin Nikaya Buddhist Order, Founder of Sitagu International Buddhist Missionary Association, Chancellor of Sitagu International Buddhist Academies, as well as Patron of Sitagu Ayudana and Sekkhu Dhana Hospitals, and Kushinagar Presiding Sayadaw Abhidhaja Maha Rattha Guru Guruji Dr A B Gyaneshwar, President of Burmese Buddhist Sangha Council of India, President of All India Bhikkhu Sangha Council, Member of World Buddhist Sangha Council, as well as Member of Asia Buddhist Sangha Council, attended the ceremony as the guests of honour.
Present at the ceremony were ambassadors from Buddhist countries, venerable monks and Buddhist devotees from Buddhist Universities and Religious and Social Organizations. According to the agenda, breakfast was served to distinguished guests, and lunch was offered to venerable monks by the Myanmar ambassador.
Myanmar Ambassador to India U Moe Kyaw Aung first delivered an opening speech, emphasizing well-deserved recognition for Venerable Buddhist Monks’ outstanding contribution and devotion towards promoting and strengthening Buddhism as well as for their utmost efforts in carrying out the purification, perpetuation, propagation and promotion of the Buddha Sasana in India and other Buddhist countries. Then, the guests of honour, Sitagu Sayadaw and Kushinagar Sayadaw, delivered remarks. On behalf of the Government of Myanmar, the Myanmar ambassador presented the prestigious religious titles to three prominent venerable members of the Sangha: 1) Venerable Bhikkhu Sanghasena, Founder of Mahabodhi International Meditation Centre-MIMC, 2) Venerable Dr Dhammapiya, Chancellor of the Dhamma Dipa International Buddhist University and Secretary General of North-East India Buddhist Sangha Council, and 3) Dr‌ Ashin Yatha, Sonuli Myanmar Monastery, followed by presenting International Buddha Peace Awards to four dignitaries who have rendered significant social contribution. — MNA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Buyers prefer second-hand motorcycles in Mandalay
Action taken against undocumented alms-seekers in Ottwin Township for clean Sasana
Model pagodas with full Myanmar cultural essence attract more interest
Taninthayi-produced areca nuts receive Thailand buyers
Myanmar’s rice, maize exports show upward trajectory
Yangon Region offers over 980 hotels, accommodations for year-round tourists
Heilongjiang General Chamber of Commerce established in Myanmar
NSPNC holds meetings with political parties working group
Myanmar, India discuss trade, investment at Lucknow Business Conclave 2024
Union Price Stability Committee meeting 2/2024 held