MoEE Union Minister attends 3rd BIMSTEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting

10 3

The 3rd BIMSTEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting was hosted in Nepal yesterday and a delegation led by Union Minister for Electricity and Energy U Aung Than Oo attended the meeting via a virtual system.
The meeting was chaired by Ms Phampha Bhusal, Minister for Energy and Water Resources and Irrigation of Nepal. The Ministers for Electricity and Energy from member states of BIMSTEC, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand exchanged views on matters related to electricity and energy sector development works in their respective nations and the drafting of the Master Plan on Power Connection. They also discussed the operating conditions of BIMSTEC Energy Sector and expansion of cross-border gas and electricity trade between the member countries. The meeting also approved the decisions of the third, fourth and fifth BIMSTEC Senior Officers’ Meetings, and a joint statement was issued by the Ministers of Electricity and Energy of the member states.
The fifth BIMSTEC Senior Officers’ Meeting was held on 19 April and was attended by the Senior Officers from the Department of Oil and Gas Planning and the Department of Electric Power Planning.
The fourth BIMSTEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting will be held in India in 2024. — MNA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News