Union Information Minister addresses 3rd conference of Myanmar Writers’ Association

DSC 1930 sskm
Union Minister for Information U Maung Maung Ohn and Newly-elected CEC members of Myanmar Writers’ Association pose for group photo at the 3rd Conference of MWA on 22 May.

Union Minister for Information U Maung Maung Ohn addressed the 3rd conference of the Myanmar Writers’ Association held at the Department of Printing and Publishing on Theinbyu Road in Yangon yesterday.
While addressing the conference, the Union Minister said the Myanmar Writers’ Association has been working to develop literature for the benefit of the country, to strengthen the unity of the literary world, to assist in the social activities of the literary world and to bring classical and contemporary literature into the hands of the readers, to the extent that the third conference was convened. Looking at the four objectives of the association, it is clear that the Myanmar Writers’ Association is capable of achieving these goals, he continued.
He expressed words of commendation for the efforts of the association which was continuously carrying out social activities, literacy development activities and supporting the state’s goods deeds. The association is currently made up of over 5,100 members in 202 townships.
The Union Minister said that he would like to welcome and honour one of six future steps in the report of the Central Executive Committee submitted to the 3rd Conference, “Myanmar Writers’ Association, should be a genuine social literary organization free from party politics. “Standing in line with democracy”, which supports the unity of the association, as well as it will contribute to the state-building activities with clear vision, free from politics.
In the morning section of the conference, decisions were made upon the submission at the conference, and Daw Cho Cho Tin (Ma Sanda), Chairperson of the Myanmar Writers’ Association, made concluding remarks.
The election of the Central Executive Committee for the third term of the Myanmar Writers’ Association was held, and U Ohn Maung (Myinmu Maung Naing Moe) was elected as the Chairman; U Myo Tun (Maung Sein Naung-Lewe) as Vice Chairman (1); U Soe Myint (Soe Hmu) as Vice Chairman (2); U Myat Soe (Myat Soe-Hline) as Vice Chairman (3); U Nyunt Tin (Maung Nyein Thu-Gyobingauk) as Secretary; U Aung Than Oo (Pathein Aung Than Oo) as Joint-Secretary (1); U Maung Maung Kyi (Yenanmyay Maung Maung Kyi) as Joint-Secretary (2); U Aung Kyi (Aung Kyi Nyunt-Tekkatho) as Joint-Secretary (3); U Aye Min (Dr Aung Htet-Medicine (1)) as Treasurer; U Nyunt Hlaing (Maung Maung Nyunt Hlaing) as Audit Leader and U Tin Aung Shwe (Dr Tin Aung Shwe) as Information Officer; were appointed as the members of the Central Executive Committee.
Afterwards, Chairman U Ohn Maung (Myinmu Maung Naing Moe) gave a speech and the third conference of Myanmar Writers’ Association was successfully concluded.—MNA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Myanmar rice exports surpass US$712 mln in 11 months
Phase I of Shwedagon to Public Square underpass construction completed
Promotional video-shooting tour highlights Nay Pyi Taw, Bagan
ME to issue certificates of identity for undocumented migrant workers in Malaysia
MoALI Union Minister meets Myanmar Apiculture Association to boost honey production
MoC Deputy Minister attends EV charging station opening ceremony, inspects toll gates
SAC member attends 62nd anniversary of Peasants’ Day in Pathein
Tatmadaw denies arresting over 100 Muslims; Recruitment from Nay Pyi Taw and Mandalay
Eight museums set to go digital in March
Domestic coconut oil prices surge above palm oil