Finalists for 2022 AFC Women’s Cup Championship announced

Myanmar women tea m
Myanmar women’s national football team pose for a group photo before an international match. Photo: MFF

The 2022 AFC Women’s Cup group stage kicks off on 24 October and all the finalists, including team Myanmar, have been emerged winners for the last round of the tourney.
The finals will be held in India from 20 January to 6 February 2022, with a total of 12 teams competing. Out of the 12 finalists, eight have won the tournament and four have qualified directly.
Japan, defending champions, host India, first runners up to Australia and second runners up China did not need to participate in the qualification.
Myanmar, Thailand, Viet Nam, the Philippines, South Korea, Iran, China Taipei and Indonesia have been qualified in the group stages.
The tournament was divided into eight groups in September and October, with only the top teams from each group winning the tournament.
The Myanmar team has already qualified for the tournament and will continue to prepare for a good result in the final round.
This is the fifth time Myanmar has qualified for the finals of the Asian Cup Women’s Championship. — Ko Nyi Lay/GNLM

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
MoCRD initiates collaboration with MLC members to strengthen MSME empowerment
MTA (Central) to honour around 1,300 elderly artistes across Myanmar in October
NSPNC holds peace talks with RCSS
DPM & MoFA Union Minister receives UNOPS Asia Regional Director
Government encourages athletes to improve sports skills and talent
Myanmar delegation attends 2023 Global Public Security Cooperation Forum
MIFER Union Minister receives UNOPS Asia Regional Director
Union Government Office 2 UM receives Qatari Minister/Charge d’Affaires ai
Water from Kyeeohn Kyeewa Dam overflows from spillway
China-Myanmar Cooperation Symposium on Metrology held in Yangon