MoNREC designates Moatwa 2 protected public forest

NOQ4RIZL 1 sskm
An aerial view of Moatwa 2 protected public forest.

The Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation has designated the area of 850 acres in Kawlin Township, Kawlin District in Sagaing Region, as “Moatwa 2 protected public forest” as of 15 November 2022, under Notification No 164/2022 by exercising the authority conferred under Sub-section (e) of Section (6) of the Forest Law promulgated in September 2018.
The Moatwa 2 protected public forest is intended to conserve the watershed area for the cultivable lands of the local people, aiming to fulfill the needs of the local people and protect the natural forests.
The forest is not only a place where many kinds of wood and valuable trees such as teak and sal but also a habitat for wild animals such as muntjac, red goral, red junglefowl and monkey. It is necessary to manage forest resources systematically and conserve a watershed area of the Thaw creek which flows into the Mu River.

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News