Myanmar women’s football team miss bronze medal in SEA Games 31

Myanmar women’s football team missed a bronze medal in the 31st SEA Games as the team lost to the Philippines women’s team 1-2 in the third-place match on 21 May.
The Myanmar team was leading by one goal till 70 minutes, but conceded two goals in four minutes and faced a loss.
The Myanmar women’s team broke the tradition of winning a medal every time it competed in the SEA Games and missed out on the medal for the first time in this 31st SEA Games.
Myanmar team came out with goalkeeper May Zin Nwe, Chit Chi, Khin Than Wai, Phyu Phyu Win, Khine Thazin, Thin Thin Yu, Khin Marlar Tun, Myat Noe Khin, Naw Htet Htet Wai, July Kyaw and Win Theingi Tun.
In the first half, the Myanmar team played better and had more chances to score, and in the 24th minute, Win Theingi Tun took the lead through a penalty.
However, Win Theingi Tun had to be replaced due to injury and the Myanmar team’s attack weakened.
The Myanmar team was weak in the second half and was under pressure from the Philippine team due to the lack of substitutes to replace the starting players.
In the 73rd minute, Boden equalized for the Philippines, and four minutes later Quezada scored the winner.
In the final match, host Viet Nam beat Thailand 1-0. Huyen Nu scored the winning goal for team Viet Nam in the 59th minute. Viet Nam has won the gold medal for the seventh time, the last three times in a row. — Ko Nyi Lay/GNLM

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News