SAC Vice-Chairman Deputy Prime Minister Vice-Senior General Soe Win offers certificates, religious titles to winner monks in 76th Tipitakadhara Tipitakakovida Selection Exam

A ceremony to honour 112 members of the Sangha who passed the 76th Tipitakadhara Tipitakakovida Selection Examination organized by the Religious Affairs Department of the Ministry of Religious Affairs and Culture took place in conjunction with the certificate offering ceremony at Maha Pasana Cave on Thiri Mingala Kaba Aye Hill in Yangon yesterday.
SSMNC Chairman Sayadaw Thanlyin Minkyaung Buddhism Learning Centre Presiding Patron Agga Maha Pandita Agga Maha Saddhamma Jotikadhaja Dr Bhaddanta Candima Bhivamsa gave Saraniya Ovada Katha.
Union Minister for Religious Affairs and Culture U Tin Oo Lwin supplicated religious affairs.
Vice-Chairman of the State Administration Council Deputy Prime Minister Vice-Senior General Soe Win offered religious title and certificate to Ashin Pannasirilankara from Tipitaka Nikaya Monastery in Dagon Township of Yangon Region, who secured Tipitakadhara Tipitakakovida title for passing the examination and Ashin Janinda from Mingun Tipitaka Nikaya Monastery of Moemeik Hill in Sagaing of Sagaing Region for passing Mula Abhidhammika subject respectively.
SAC member Dr Ba Shwe, Union ministers U Maung Maung Ohn, U Tin Oo Lwin and Dr Thet Khaing Win, Yangon Region Chief Minister U Soe Thein, senior military officers from the Office of the Commander-in-Chief, the commander of Yangon Command and officials presented religious titles and certificates to monks who passed relevant subjects in the examination.
The Vice-Senior General and wife, SAC member Dr Ba Shwe, Union ministers and party donated offerings to monks who passed the Examination.
The Examination turned out one Tipitakadhara Tipitakakovida monk, five Mula Abhidhammika monks, three Digha Nikayakovida monks, nine Digha Bhanaka monks, five Vinayakovida monks, 31 Vinayadhara monks, seven Ubhato Vibhangakovida monks and 51 Ubhato Vibhangadhara monks, totalling 112.
Up to the 76th examination, 16 Tipitakadhara Tipitakakovida monks have emerged during the 76 years. The government offers Tipitakadhara Dhammabhandagarika title to those Sayadaw who have secured Tipitakadhara Tipitakakovida title 15 years. So far, 14 members of the Sangha have been offered the Tipitakadhara Dhammabhandagarika title. As five Tipitakadhara Sayadaws have emerged, more Tipitakadhara Tipitakakovida title recipient Sayadaws will come out in the future. — MNA/TTA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Buyers prefer second-hand motorcycles in Mandalay
Action taken against undocumented alms-seekers in Ottwin Township for clean Sasana
Model pagodas with full Myanmar cultural essence attract more interest
Taninthayi-produced areca nuts receive Thailand buyers
Myanmar’s rice, maize exports show upward trajectory
Yangon Region offers over 980 hotels, accommodations for year-round tourists
Heilongjiang General Chamber of Commerce established in Myanmar
NSPNC holds meetings with political parties working group
Myanmar, India discuss trade, investment at Lucknow Business Conclave 2024
Union Price Stability Committee meeting 2/2024 held