Shan United clinches fifth MNL points championship undefeated, secures Gold Cup victory once again

vU36x71b p15
U Zaw Zaw, President of the Myanmar Football Federation, presenting the championship trophy to the first-prize-winning Shan United team. photo; thaw gyi

The final match of the 2023 MNL Championship season took place on 18 December at Thuwunna Stadium, featuring a goalless draw between Shan United and Yangon United.
Shan United, the reigning champions, secured an unbeaten record for the entire season by tying with Yangon United in the last match. This victory marked Shan United’s third points championship and an unprecedented achievement of winning the championship for four consecutive seasons in the tournament’s history. The team had previously won the MNL scoring championship five times in 2017, 2019, 2020, 2022, and 2023, remaining unbeaten in the 2019, 2022, and 2023 seasons.
Both teams fielded their core players, facing challenges throughout the match that ultimately ended in a draw. Shan United focused on preventing goals, while Yangon aimed to break Shan United’s unbeaten streak. Despite efforts from both sides, the match concluded without a winner. Shan United’s unbeaten record now extends to 56 games since the 2020 season. Head coach U Han Win Aung, who has been in charge since the 2022 season, has maintained an impressive record of not losing any domestic league games under his leadership. The best player award for this match was claimed by Yangon goalkeeper Phone Thitsa Min.
Following the match, the prize-giving ceremony proceeded. Shan United’s striker, Bello, who secured the award for the most goals with 13, received a medal and a prize of K1 million. Dagon Star team, securing the 5th place, was awarded a prize of K10 million. The ISPE, clinching the 4th place, received a prize of K20 million. Hanthawady team, the third-place winner, received an individual medal and a prize of K30 million. Yangon United team, securing the second prize, received an individual medal and a prize of K40 million. Shan United, the first prize winner, received an individual medal and a prize of K60 million, along with the championship trophy and the gold trophy for maintaining an undefeated record throughout the season. The awards were presented by Yangon Region government ministers, Myanmar Football Federation President U Zaw Zaw, and other officials. — Ko Nyi Lay/KZW

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Ancient Ketumati City preserves walls, moats, and original gateway style
Myanmar’s agricultural exports surpass US$1.1 bln by 14 June
Myanmar student youths to attend BRIDGE Summer Camp-2024 in Japan
Myanmar Embassy clerk in France absent without leave due to personal matter
MoEP Union Minister inspects HED installation at Paunglaung Dam
MoI Union Minister inspects paddy husk gasifier power generation facility
MoTC holds rainy season tree-planting ceremony
Mandalay releases over 217M gallons of wastewater daily
Mawlamyine’s Union National Races Cultural Centre to feature traditional homes of Mon, Kayin, Pa-O, and Bamar
Myanmar participates in commemoration of G-77’s 60th anniversary in Vienna