AFF Cup: most advanced competition in ASEAN region to start on 20 December

A Myanmar team player (white) slips the ball during the friendly match against the Thai team on 11 December: PHOTO: FAT

The 2022 ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Cup, the most advanced competition in the ASEAN region, will be held on 20 December.
The tournament will be divided into two groups of five teams, and current champion Thailand is falling in Group A with Indonesia, the Philippines, Cambodia, and Brunei. Group (B) has Viet Nam, Malaysia, Singapore, Myanmar, and Laos teams.
The group matches will be held from 20 December 2022 to 3 January 2023, and the competing teams will play four group matches: two home matches, and two away matches. On the first day of the competition, the Cambodian team will take on the Philippines team, and the Brunei team will play against the Thai team on 20 December.
The Myanmar team, which is in Group B, will play its first group game against the Malaysian team on 21 December.
Myanmar will play an away match against Singapore on 24 December, a home game against the Laos team on 30 December and another away match against the Viet Nam team on 3 January.
The Myanmar team is likely to make more efforts to advance to the next stage, and only if they can get full points in both home matches without mistakes, and if the results in the away matches are good, they will be able to enter the semi-finals.
The Myanmar national team started training for this tournament on 18 November, and after the friendly trip to Thailand, the squad will come out with 26 preliminary players. The Myanmar national team will have to select 23 final players, so they will have to reduce further three players.
Kyaw Zin Phyo, San Satt Naing, Tun Nandar Oo, and Myo Min Latt participated in the goalkeeper list.
The back row features talented players: Nanda Kyaw, Hein Phyo Win, Thiha Htet Aung, Ye Min Thu, Hein Zeya Lin, Zaw Ye Tun, Kyaw Zin Lwin, David Htan, and Win Moe Kyaw.
The midfield was reinforced by experienced players: Aung Naing Win, Wai Lin Aung, Kyaw Min Oo, Lin Htet Soe, Lwin Moe Aung, Yan Naing Oo, Myat Kaung Khant, Ye Yint Aung, Maung Maung Lwin, and Hein Htet Aung.
The forward of the team Myanmar was set up with talented youths: Win Naing Tun, Aung Kaung Marn and Naing Zin Htet. — Ko Nyi Lay/KZL

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News