14th regular session of second Amyotha Hluttaw convenes 17th day meeting

Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than.  Photo: MNA
Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than.  Photo: MNA

The 14th regular session of second Amyotha Hluttaw held its 17th day meeting yesterday, with queries to the Ministry of Border Affairs, and the Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement, and debates on the release of unused state-owned properties from the respective ministries for urban development programmes.
Queries to ministries
MP U Shan Ora from Chin State constituency 2 asked for supply of drinking water for Hawsin Village in Haka Township of Chin State. Deputy Minister for Border Affairs Major General Than Htut pledged to install two 5,000 gallon-tanks, 2,800 ft pipeline, a pump engine and a pumping facility with K32 million Union Budget in 2019-2020 financial year.
MP U Bwe Khane from Chin State constituency 3 asked for construction of inter-village roads in Thantlang Township in 2020-2022 financial year. Major General Than Htut advised to submit a proposal after making a joint field survey with local authorities.
MP U Khin Maung Latt from Rakhine State constituency 3 asked the plans of Union Government for storage and distribution of reserved rice for Rakhine State. Deputy Minister for Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement U Soe Aung replied that the Disaster Management Department, UN/INGO/NGO and civil organizations are distributing rice in the State. Although there is no accumulation of reserved rice at present, the crops can be distributed from the warehouses of Township General Administration Department and Disaster Management Department.
Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than announced approval on recommendations of Pyithu Hluttaw for fifth amendment bills on Pyithu Hluttaw Election Law, Amyotha Hluttaw Election Law and Statte/Region Election Law.
Properties for urban development programmes
MP U Ko Ko Naing from Sagaing Region constituency 8 tabled a motion to the relevant ministries to release unused state-owned property for urban development programmes.
MP U Kyaw Thaung from Sagaing Region constituency 1, MP U Kyaw Toke from Mandalay Region constituency 7 and MP U Hla Oo from Sagaing Region constituency 4 supported the motion. It was also debated by Tatmadaw Representative Major Ye Aung Saw, Daw Hla Htay (a) Daw Ohn Kyi from Mandalay Region constituency 4 and U Hla San from Magway Region constituency 1.
Deputy Minister for Planning, Finance and Industry U Maung Maung Win said the Privatization Commission is handling transfer of state-owned properties after reviewing reports from the Union Ministries and State/Region governments, and that he advised the motion to be kept for the record.
MP U Ko Ko Naing asked for voting of Amyotha Hluttaw to implement this motion not to delay for the public welfare. The motion was passed by 114 votes to 57, with 5 abstentions.
Report of Government’s Guarantees, Pledges and Undertakings Vetting Committee of the Amyotha Hluttaw
MP U Khin Myo Win from Taninthayi Region constituency 12 and MP U Zaw Hein from constituency 7 of the same region discussed the report of Government’s Guarantees, Pledges and Undertakings Vetting Committee of the Amyotha Hluttaw on motions and queries submitted from the first to the 13th regular sessions of second Amyotha Hluttaw.
Committee’s Chairman U Thein Swe tabled a motion for approval of Hluttaw on the report, and it was passed by the Hluttaw without any objections.
The second Amyotha Hluttaw will hold its 18th day meeting of 14 regular session on 19 December.—Aung Ye Thwin (Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News