2020 Pakokku U Ohn Pe Literary Awards handed to nation’s writers

DSC 0088 sskm
Union Information Minister U Maung Maung Ohn chairs the coordination meeting on the construction of the Sarso Beikman yesterday.

The 2020 Pakokku U Ohn Pe Lifetime Literary Awards, Pakokku Literary Award, Scholarships and Pakokku U Ohn Pe Library Book Awards giving ceremony were held at the meeting hall of the Printing and Publishing Department (PPD) on Theinbyu Road, Yangon, yesterday morning.
First, Union Minister for Information U Maung Maung Ohn said the cash prize amount funded by Sayagyi U Ohn Pe was an unprecedented case at that time and had a large positive impact on the literary sector. It also provided the development of Myanmar literature.
The Prime Minister in stressed to make efforts in developing literature and providing books for the public to read. The books can provide proper thinking skills to the youths and so the literature experts should continue writing as per the trend supporting the knowledge and vocational sector of young people.
The government is now implementing short-term and long-term plans for the youths. Currently, the 38-principle Mingala TV programme is being broadcast on the MRTV channel and the national level performing arts competition by the end of October.
Moreover, the Sarso Beikman is being constructed while the Art Centres in Yangon and Mandalay according to the guidance of the Prime Minister.
The Union minister then extended his wishes to the literary prize winners and outstanding award winners.
Chairman of the Myanmar Writers Association and Pakokku Literary Award Fund Supervisory Committee U Ohn Maung (Myinmu Maung Naing Moe) explained the award-giving event.
Afterwards, the Union minister and officials concerned presented awards to the winners.
Pakokku Literary Award for Lifetime Achievements winner U Nyunt Swe (Maung Swe Thet) expressed thanks on behalf of the awardees.
Yangon Region Chief Minister U Soe Thein then gave K100,000 each to 19 winners.
The officials gave two literary awards for lifetime achievements, 13 prizes in five genres like a selected poems, novels, selected short stories, treatises and research after reviewing 47 artworks, two Pakokku U Ohn Pe Library Book Awards and two scholarship awards for National University of Arts and Culture.
At noon, the Union minister presided over a coordination meeting on the construction of the Sarso Beikman.
During the meeting, the Union minister highlighted the need to discuss the term and storage of the Sarso Beikman and construct the building showcasing Myanmar culture by studying the international structures.
Then, the attendees coordinated the discussion and the Union minister and the deputy minister stressed the necessary things. — MNA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News
Tatmadaw education schools, Tatmadaw BEHSs turn out 392 distinction winners in matric exam 2024
MNHRC inspects Yamethin Prison, Kintha 1 & 2 Production Camp
Myanmar ambassador to Japan engages with Kumamoto officials, business leaders
Myanmar to participate in 36th VECONAC, 23rd General Assembly in Singapore
Strand Road Night Market opens in Magway
MoE Union Minister receives Ambassador of India
DPM MoD Union Minister leaves for Vietnam to attend state funeral
Myanmar, India to enhance cooperation in e-ID system
DPM MoFA Union Minister attends China-South Asia Expo opening
Indian Ambassador calls on MoHT Union Minister