FDA (Yangon Branch) commissioned into service

DSC 1472 sskm
SAC member Jeng Phang Naw Taung, Union Minister for Health Dr Thet Khaing Win and Yangon Region Chief Minister U Soe Thein cut the ribbon to open Yangon Branch of FDA on 17 July.

The Yangon Branch of the Department of Food and Drug Administration under the Ministry of Health was commissioned into service in Htaukkyant of Mingaladon Township, Yangon Region, yesterday.
Member of the State Administration Council Jeng Phang Naw Taung, Union Minister for Health Dr Thet Khaing Win and Chief Minister of Yangon Region U Soe Thein inspected tests for contents of mercury and lead in the products at the laboratories, laboratory tests for active pharmaceutical ingredients for manufacturing of drugs, use of dyes in foodstuffs, quality of foodstuffs, saturated and unsaturated oils.
In his speech, the SAC member highlighted that operation of the FDA (Yangon Branch) decided to further cooperate with relevant departments, organizations and partner associations for supervising production of safe foodstuffs, medicines, medical equipment and cosmetics. It will help the people use the safe and quality foodstuffs, medicines and cosmetics, contributing to the improvement of socio-economic status of the people.
The Union Minister for Health said the Yangon branch of the FDA comprises modern laboratories, office, staff and officer housings and one training centre, totalling seven. Officials from the department will check foodstuffs, medicines, medical equipment and cosmetics whether they meet international standards.
The director general of FDA reported on organizational setups of the Nay Pyi Taw and Yangon branches and their duties and functions.
The department was set up as a separate department under the Ministry of Health on 1 August 2013.
It has been formed with Nay Pyi Taw (head office), Yangon and Mandalay branches, 12 region and state offices, and 13 border trade camps in addition to 33 district level offices. — MNA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News