Pyidaungsu Hluttaw approves ROK Government’s EDCF Loan US$ 93.779 mln

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw being convened in Nay Pyi Taw. Photo: MNA

The Second Pyidaungsu Hluttaw tenth regular session held its tenth-day meeting at the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw meeting hall yesterday where Government of Republic of Korea’s (ROK) Economic Development Cooperation Fund (EDCF) Loan US$ 93.779 million was approved.

30-month work report of Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Joint Public Accounts Committee put on record
At the meeting Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Joint Public Accounts Committee Vice Chairman (1) U Saw Than Htut read and submitted the committee’s 30-month work report after which Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat announced the Hluttaw putting the report on record.

Paragraph wise decision on 2017 Myanmar Gemstone Bill
Next Hluttaw approves a motion tabled by Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Joint Bill Committee joint secretary Dr. Myat Nyana Soe on 2017 Myanmar Gemstone Bill in which the two Hluttaws were in disagreement after Hluttaw representatives discussed and decided on it paragraph by paragraph.

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw approves EDCF Loan
Afterwards Union Minister for Transport and Communications U Thant Sin Maung explained again about the EDCF Loan US$ 93.779 million for e-Government Integrated Data Center (e-GIDC) construction project. The e-GIDC will construct its own Cloud system or cloud computing technology where the country’s data and information can be stored without requiring it to be stored in any foreign countries and thus there’ll be added protection and security as well as reducing expenses.
e-GIDC will be constructed in the administrative center of Nay Pyi Taw and a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will be constructed in Thanlyin Township that is 400 km away to protect against damage from natural disaster.
Once the construction of e-GIDC is completed e-Government services such as online payment, taxation, e-mail, e-ID, e-Visa, One-stop-services, Online news, Instant messages will be available 24/7 safely, securely and speedily. As the development of e-Government works will support the country’s all-round development the Hluttaw is requested to approve the loan explained the Union Minister.
In his explanation on the matter Deputy Minister for Planning and Finance U Maung Maung Win said the ministry will manage and administer the signing of the loan agreement, utilization of the loan, loan principle and interest payments.
Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker then announced the Hluttaw’s approval of the matter after the Hluttaw voted 453 for, 9 against and 2 abstaining.

Hluttaw discusses government debt report for FY 2017-2018 and report (10/2018)
Following this Annual Report on the government debt for financial year 2017-2018 and Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Joint Public Accounts Committee Report (10/2018) on the finding and comments on the Annual Report were discussed by Dr. Daw Thet Thet Khaing of Dagon constituency, U Khin Cho of Hlaingbwe constituency, U Win Maung of Magway Region constituency 6, U Bo Gyi of Chauk constituency, Dr. Saw Naing of South Okkalapa constituency, U Hla San of Magway Region constituency 1, U Tun Tun of Pwintbyu constituency, Daw Wint War Tun of Shadaw constituency, Tatmadaw Amyotha Hluttaw representative Lt-Col Myo Tun Aung, Daw Khin San Hlaing of Pale constituency and Daw Cho Cho of Ottwin constituency.

Hluttaw discusses Union Legal Supporting Group six-month report
Later Hluttaw representatives discussed the Union Legal Supporting Group six-month report.
In his discussion U Win Win of Minbu constituency said the report openly mentioned that some ministries were strong while some were weak in connecting and working with the Group in assessing and reviewing the complaints received. Therefore, in future reports names of ministries, state/region governments, departments and organizations that are weak in cooperation should be mentioned suggested U Win Win.
The report was also discussed by U Win Myint Oo @ U Nay Myo of Nyaungshwe constituency, U Nyan Lin of Shwepyitha constituency and U Kan Oo of Salin constituency.

Hluttaw discusses national plan annual report for FY 2017-2018 and report (13/2018)
As a final agenda of the day FY 2017-2018 National Plan Annual Report sent by the Union Government and Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Joint Public Accounts Committee Report (13/2018) on the finding and comments on the Annual Report were discussed by Daw Naw Chris Tun @ Dr. Arr Kar Moe of Kayin State constituency 7, U Wai Sein Aung of Rakhine State constituency 1, U Zaw Hein of Taninthayi Region constituency 7, U Thant Zin Htun of Dekhinathiri constituency, U Zon Hle Htan of Chin State constituency 4, Daw Cho Cho of Ottwin constituency, U Hwei Tin of Chin State constituency 11, U Khin Cho of Hlaingbwe constituency, U Khin Myo Win of Taninthayi Region constituency 12, Dr. Khun Win Thaung of Kachin State constituency 11, U Tun Tun Oo of Mandalay Region constituency 2, U Than Soe @ Than Soe (Economic) of Yangon Region constituency 4, Daw Aye Mya Mya Moe of Kyauktan constituency and U Aung Myo Latt of Mandalay Region constituency 5.
The eleventh-day meeting of the Second Pyidaungsu Hluttaw’s tenth regular session will be held on 21 December it is learnt.


—Aung Ye Thwin, Aye Aye Thant (MNA)
(Translated by Zaw Min)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News