Union Minister Dr Win Myat Aye chairs UEHRD committee meeting

The Union Enterprise for Humanitarian Assistance, Resettlement and Development in Rakhine State held the 4th meeting via videoconferencing in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday.

Union Minister for Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement Dr Win Myat Aye, the Vice-Chairperson (2) of the UEHRD committee, presided over the meeting at his office.

He discussed the committee’s works on providing humanitarian aid in Rakhine State, repatriation and resettlement programmes for the displaced persons, collaboration with relevant ministries, task forces, international organizations and partner countries in implementing development projects, the links of UEHRD works with central committees and work committees responsible for supporting peace, stability and development projects for Rakhine state.

He also discussed operation costs of committee office, systematic use of UEHRD committee’s funds which will be scrutinized by local and foreign audits, requirements for coordination with the Office of Auditor-General of the Union and relevant ministries, and the works of UEHRD in Rakhine State amid some restrictions in armed conflicts and COVID-19.

The Union Minister finally advised on closer cooperation between the UEHRD committee and the task forces, in addition to systematic implementation and preparations for economic recovery plan amid and post COVID-19 period to lessen impacts on the works of UEHRD for the Rakhine State development programmes.

Deputy Minister U Soe Aung, the secretary of committee, reported on the funds, expenditures and balance of the committee’s account, followed by the participant’s discussions on preparatory measures for resistance to natural disaster during monsoon, local security, resettlement, implementation of pilot projects for closure of temporary shelters, releasing information about the works of UEHRD to local and international communities, development of its information and communication sector, existing projects being implemented for developments in Rakhine State, and carrying out the works suitable for the COVID-19 Economic Relief Plan (CERP).

Officials who took part in the online meeting were Deputy Minister for the Office of State Counsellor U Khin Maung Tin, Deputy Minister for Construction Dr Kyaw Lin, Deputy Minister for Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement U Soe Aung, Permanent Secretary of the Office of Union Government U Zaw Than Thin, the directors-general and officials of MoSWRR, Chief Coordinator of UEHRD Dr Aung Tun Thet, Advisor to Chairperson of UEHRD U Toe Oung, Information and Communications Director of UEHRD U Kyaw Myaing and Chief Operation Officer
U Nyi Nyein Aye.—MNA (Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News