Pyithu Hluttaw raises the curtain on 17th regular session

view 121The Second Pyithu Hluttaw commenced its 17th regular session yesterday. Before the welcoming speech of Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat, Tatmadaw representative Lt-Col Aye Shwe swore and signed on oath.
The Speaker said that the 17th regular session of Pyithu Hluttaw will have to finalize the processes of National Planning Bill for 2020-2021 Financial Year, Union Budget Bill and Union Taxation Bill, along with other bills and proposals in proper proportion. He also urged the parliamentarians for their coordination in successful completion of the session in line with COVID-19 preventive guidelines although the pandemic is under control to a certain degree in the country.
MP U Ba Shein from Kyaukpyu constituency raised a query whether a member of political party needs to know about its rule for becoming a membership, resignation, dismissal and termination from the party.
He also asked about the breach of Article 21 of Political Parties Registration Law if a member of political party contested in any election for an opponent party.
U Thet Tun, the member of Union Election Commission, replied, quoting Article 9 that defines ‘a person has the right to stand for election is eligible to contest in the election either individually or representing a political party’. He continued to say that a person who was not allowed for his resignation from a party would be tantamount to breach Article 21 of Political Parties Registration Law if he/she represents for another contesting party in the elections; however, he/she is eligible for contesting the election as an individual candidate not to lose the right to stand for election under an unfavourable condition for resignation.
MP U Nyunt Win from Kanpetlet constituency asked for issuing orders and directives not to allow vote counting before 4 pm on the election day and not to leak results of respective constituencies. UEC member U Thet Tun turned down the proposals and explained the Article 42 (a) and (b), Article 48(b), regarding voting hours and the responsibility of polling booth officer.
MP U Toe Thaung from Mongmit constituency asked about better connection of MPT mobile phone lines. Deputy Minister for Transport and Communications U Thar Oo replied that the existing Mogok-Mongmit microwave-network has the technically highest bandwidth capacity in the country; however, the poor connection is caused by linking with 20 mobile stations. The Deputy Minister confirmed that plans are underway to substitute the existing microwave-network with the fibre networks and the project is expected to finalize in March 2021. MP U Kyaw Shwe from Yanbye constituency asked about construction of telecom tower on Tantlang Moiuntain between Katawpyin and Tharsipyin villages.
The Deputy Minister refused the proposal; however, it will be implemented in line with budget allocations from both private and public sectors in respective financial years. MP U Aung Kyaw Zan from Pauktaw constituency asked for better telecommunication networks in some coastal areas of his constituency. The Deputy Minister replied construction of more telecom stations based on the allocation of budgets.
Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker informed the acceptance of Myanmar Telecommunication Commission Bill sent by the Amyotha Hluttaw with recommendations, and Bill Committee member Dr Wai Phyo Aung read the report before the invitation of Speaker to submit the list of representatives who want to discuss the bill.
The second-day meeting of 17th regular session of Pyithu Hluttaw will convene on 14 July.—Aye Aye Thant (MNA) (Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News