Govt officials, well-wishers donate cash to national COVID-19 committee

DSC 3957 0
Union Minister Dr Myint Htwe (R) receives the donations from the ministries and well-wishers.  Photo: MNA

A donation ceremony for measures against COVID-19 prevention, control and treatment was held at the Ministry of Health and Sports yesterday afternoon. Union Minister for Transport and Communications U Thant Sin Maung, Union Minister for Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation U Ohn Win and Union Minister for Hotels and Tourism U Ohn Maung firstly explained the reason of the cash contribution to COVID-19 committee.
Union Minister for Health and Sports Dr Myint Htwe said the ministry always keeps eye on nature and spread of virus and resources of the country.
He continued saying that it is absolutely essential to follow the health rules as there might be small waves of infections in the country after the second wave of COVID-19 and before the vaccine is developed.
According to the data, 95 per cent of the deaths in the country are with underlying conditions like hypertension, diabetes and heart attack and so all the people including elderly persons need to follow the health guide-lines without fail, said the Union Minister, adding that the currently received cash will be used especially for the hospitals, ICU (Intensive Care Unit) and upgrading oxygen pipelines.
Then, Union Minister for Transport and Communications and his wife and staff of Economic Department and Transport Department of Myanma Railways donated K10 million while K26,853,000 by the staff of Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation, K3,530,000 by the staff of Ministry of Hotels and Tourism, K4.2million by the Union Auditor-General and his staff, K1million by the staff of Department of Higher Education including Director-General, K1,321,000 by Loikaw University, K3,005,000 by Taunggyi University, K7,475,000 by Yadanabon University, K 1million by U Htin Kyaw, member of Shan State sub-election commission and his wife, Daw Nan Hmwe and K1million by U Thet Shay+Daw Myint Myint Thu from FMI City of Hlinethaya Township. Union Minister Dr Myint Htwe, Deputy Minister Dr Mya Lay Sein and Permanent Secretary Professor Dr Thet Khaing Win received the cash donation and gave the certificates of honour in return.—MNA (Translated by Khine Thazin Han)

Share this post


Hot News
Hot News