Leaders of All Burma Federation of Students Unions arrested

The leaders of the former All Burma Federation of Students Unions (former ABFSU) and the leaders of the current All Burma Federation of Students Unions (ABFSU) have been arrested.

In the afternoon of 3 March, 2021, All Burma Federation of Student Unions (former ABFSU) led by Kyaw Ko Ko, Lynn Htet Naing (a) James, current ABFSU and other student unions in Yangon, CSOs led by Generation Wave (GW) and Future Nation Alliances (FNA), in collaboration with NLD, ALD, DPNS by over 1,000 people conducted Civil Disobedience Movement in front of the Tamwe Township Police Station on Banyardala road.
The crowd was dispersed by sound bombs and tear gas bombs and a total of 188 men, 200 women and 1 monk was detained. Among them, Vice-Chair of ABFSU Wai Yan Phyo Moe, Lay Pyay Soe Moe, Zaw Htet Naing, Aung Phone Maw, Hpone Htet Naung, who were members of ABFSU and Thuta Soe (Yankin Education College Student Union), Aye Aung (alumni of 1996 batch) were also included.

Kyaw Ko Ko, who led the riot, fled in an ambulance under the name of San Tun Aung, claiming that he was tired, and is being prosecuted.
According to the confession of Wai Yan Phyo Moe, the Vice-Chair of the ABFSU and the students involved in the federation. The main leaders of the riot are as follow:

Kyaw Ko Ko, Lynn Htet Naing (a) James, Moe Htet Nay, Aye Aung (arrested) from former ABFSU; Thant Nyi Nyi Win (Chair) and Wai Yan Phyo Moe (Vice-Chair, arrested) from the current ABFSU; Min Han Htet (Chair) who involved in removing the national flag and secretary Thuta Kyaw from Dagon University Students Union; Nyi Zaw (Chair), Aung Kaung Sett (Information), Hayman Soe Nyunt (Secretary), Lay Pyay Soe Moe (responsible for student rights, arrested), Hpone Htet Naung (Education, arrested) and Aung Hpone Maw (responsible for research, arrested) from Yangon University Students Union; Nway Nway San (Secretary) from Yangon University of Foreign Languages (YUFL) Students Union; Htoo Aye Lin (Chair) from Cooperative University Students Union (Thanlyin); Zaw Htet Naing (Vice-Chair arrested) from Yangon University of Education Students Union; Pyae Phyo Zaw (Chair) and Kyaw Kyaw Lin (Secretary) from Yangon West University Students Union; Moe Thwe from Generation Wave (GW); Thet Swe Win from Future Nation Alliances (FNA); Phoe Saung from NLD; Myo Kyaw from ALD and Aung Moe Zaw, Hnin Hnin Hmwe and Ei Thinzar Maung from DPNS and Kyaw Ni and Phoe Kyaw from Trade Union.

Twenty-three people mentioned above including Kyaw Ko Ko, were charged under Section 505-A of the Criminal Code at Tamway and Mayangon police stations and it is reported that those who found them can report to the nearest police stations and those who hide them will be taken effective legal action in accordance with the law. —MNA

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News