Pyidaungsu Hluttaw approves to extend terms of parliamentary committees

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw is being convened in Nay Pyi Taw. Photo: MNA

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than brought up the matter of the committee dealing with Joint Committee on ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly and the joint committee on international parliamentary committee; which were established on 1 March 2016 at the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw 1st regular meeting 6th day; both committees are about to reach the end of their one-year term today.
The Speaker asked the Hluttaw to voice their opinions on extending the terms of both committees by another year, to 28 February 2018, to which Hluttaw representatives voiced their approval.
Afterwards, the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker presented the 38-member Commission for Legal Affairs and Special Cases Assessment, which was established on 1 March 2016 with approval from the Hluttaw and is about to reach the end of its one-year term today, former Hluttaw Speaker U Kyin Pe of Mon’s letter of resignation from the commission, and appointing former Hluttaw Speaker U Ye Myint of Magway as a commission member.
The Speaker then listened to the Hluttaw’s opinions on extending the term of the commission, approving resignation of an active member and appointing a new member in place to which Tatmadaw Hluttaw Representative Brig-Gen Maung Maung voiced his disapproval on extending the term of the committee.
With the use of an electronic voting system, 333 approval votes, 189 disapproval votes and 6 neutral votes were given on the case concerning the extension of the term of the commission. The Speaker then announced the approval of extending the term of the Commission for Legal Affairs and Special Cases Assessment after viewing the voting results.
Afterwards U Khin Maung Thi from Loilem constituency proposed raiding the GDP of local productions and services to 7% concerning the 2017-2018 Fiscal year and National Planning Law. He further discussed that to reach the target of improving the agricultural sector by 4.2%, assistance is needed in the form of agricultural equipment and machinery that confirms with the ecosphere in Myanmar.
Next U Tin Htun Naing from Seikkyi/Khanaungto constituency, U Yan Linn from Kyaiklat constituency, U Sai Ba Thein from Langkho constituency, U Aung Min from Zalun constituency, U Sai Thant Zin from Hsipaw constituency, Dr. Aung Khin from PyinOoLwin constituency, U Ye Htut from Sagaing constituency (5), U Myo Win from Mon constituency (8), Daw Nan Ni Ni Aye from Kayin constituency (6), U Khin Cho from Hlaingbwe constituency, U Than Soe Aung from Pyinmanar constituency, Naw Hla Hla Soe from Yangon constituency (10), U Kyaw Kyaw from Rakhine constituency (4), U Ohn Lwin from Nyaungdon constituency, U Win Htut from Pyapon constituency, U Thant Zin Htun from Dekkhinathiri constituency, U Aung Kyaw Kyaw Oo from Hlaing constituency and U Aye Min Aung from Paungde constituency discussed on the National Planning Bill for 2017-2018 FY and its policy and projects vision and Basic Planning Projects.
Afterwards, Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than explained that the decision of Hluttaw Representatives concerning the National Planning Bill for 2017-2018 FY and its policy and projects appendix 2(A) includes removal and lessening of approval of certain strategic planning, therefore, if necessary, Hluttaw representatives wishing to amend the bill should discuss with the Collaboration Committees and National Organizations concerned to get better ideas for amending and submitting for approval as soon as possible.
The Speaker concluded by announcing the discussion concerning the draft law/bill between the Draft Law Committee’s reports and Hluttaw Representatives’ discussion on basic principles and visions will be replied by National Organizations concerned will resume on 1 March 2017.
Also submission of approvals, disapprovals, and reducing of planning projects will be discussed National Organizations concerned on 6 March 2017. —Myanmar News Agency

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News